Mental Health Resources
Decolonizing trauma work : Indigenous stories and strategies by
Call Number: Taylor WA305.L756d 2014; King's RC451.5.I5L55 2014
Publication Date: 2014
In Decolonizing Trauma Work, Renee Linklater explores healing and wellness in Indigenous communities on Turtle Island. Drawing on a decolonizing approach, which puts the “soul wound” of colonialism at the centre, Linklater engages ten Indigenous health care practitioners in a dialogue regarding Indigenous notions of wellness and wholistic health, critiques of psychiatry and psychiatric diagnoses, and Indigenous approaches to helping people through trauma, depression and experiences of parallel and multiple realities. Through stories and strategies that are grounded in Indigenous worldviews and embedded with cultural knowledge, Linklater offers purposeful and practical methods to help individuals and communities that have experienced trauma.
Healing Traditions by
Call Number: Weldon, Brescia E78.C2H43 2008; King's RC451.5.I5H46 2008
Publication Date: 2008-12-05
Aboriginal peoples in Canada have diverse cultures but share common social and political challenges that have contributed to their experiences of health and illness. This collection addresses the origins of mental health and social problems and the emergence of culturally responsive approaches to services and health promotion. Healing Traditions is not a handbook of practice but a resource for thinking critically about current issues in the mental health of indigenous peoples. Cross-cutting themes include: the impact of colonialism, sedentarization, and forced assimilation; the importance of land for indigenous identity and an ecocentric self; and processes of healing and spirituality as sources of resilience.
Journey to healing : Aboriginal people with addiction and mental health issues : what health, social service and justice workers need to know by
Call Number: Education RC451.5.I5J69 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Helping to promote healing in Aboriginal people with addiction and mental health issues requires specialized knowledge and unique skills. Health, social service and justice workers must first have a grasp of history and the emotional legacy that today’s generation of Aboriginal people carry. They must also be prepared to blend Aboriginal and Western approaches to match their clients’ unique world views. Journey to Healing is a comprehensive and practical evidence-based resource. It was written to help prepare students and professionals to provide counselling and social services to Aboriginal people with mental health and addiction issues in urban, rural and isolated settings.
Mental Health Counselling for Indigenous Cultures by
Call Number: Education RC451.5.I5I64 2017
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
North America's Indigenous population is a vulnerable group, with specific psychological and healing needs that are not widely met in the mental health care system. Indigenous peoples face certain historical, cultural-linguistic and socioeconomic barriers to mental health care access that government, health care organizations and social agencies must work to overcome. This volume examines ways Indigenous healing practices can complement Western psychological service to meet the needs of Indigenous peoples through traditional cultural concepts. Bringing together leading experts in the fields of Aboriginal mental health and psychology, it provides data and models of Indigenous cultural practices in psychology that are successful with Indigenous peoples. It considers Indigenous epistemologies in applied psychology and research methodology, and informs government policy on mental health service for these populations.
The Indigenous Health and Well-being collection presents a holistic view of health and well-being.
This collection includes resources addressing all aspects of Indigenous health and well-being. Items in the collection address Indigenous health as well as the historical, cultural and colonial factors that affect health and well-being.
Indigenous AND health
(Indigenous OR "First Nations" OR aboriginal OR inuit OR metis) AND (health OR healing OR well-being)
or perform your own search in the library catalogue.
For collection suggestions or more information about Indigenous collections at Western or the Affiliates, contact: