Unearthing secrets : gathering truths by
Call Number: Weldon Library - Regular Loan PR9299.1.O57U54 2018
Publication Date: 20118
Finalist for the 2019 Indigenous Voices Award in Published Poetry in English. Unearthing Secrets delves into the life and the healing of an lnnininew women from the ancestral lands of the Moshkekowok, now called Northern Ontario. It is through the process of writing broken poetry; visual poetry rooted in the haunting memories of her childhood that she provides the reader a glimpse into the mind of child survivor who was saved by her ancestors. This thought provoking poetry sheds light on a personal account of how she comes to terms with intergenerational trauma inflicted by the residential school system
Call Number: PR9299.2.D362A6 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Print. Hiraeth is about women supporting and lending strength and clarity to other women so they know that moving forward is always possible-- and always necessary.Poems speak to the 1960's "scoop up" of children and how this affected the lives of (one or thousands) of First Nations and Métis girls-- girls who later grew to be women with questions, women with wounds, women who felt like they had no place to call home. "Hiraeth" is a word that is Celtic in origin and it means looking for a place to belong that never existed. But this place does exist -- in the heart.
Call Number: Education E98.W8N68 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-12
Whether looking back to a troubled past or welcoming a hopeful future, the powerful voices of Indigenous women across North America resound in this book. #Not Your Princess presents an eclectic collection of poems, essays, interviews, and art that combine to express the experience of being a Native woman. Stories of abuse, humiliation, and stereotyping are countered by the voices of passionate women making themselves heard and demanding change. Sometimes angry, often reflective, but always strong, the women in this book will give teen readers insight into the lives of women who, for so long, have been virtually invisible.
The Accident of Being Lost by
Call Number: Weldon 5th Floor, Education PR9299.2.S5625T48 2017; Huron, King's PS8637.I4865A73 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-11
"This Accident of Being Lost is the knife-sharp new collection of stories and songs from award-winning Nishnaabeg storyteller and writer Leanne Betasamosake Simpson. These visionary pieces build upon Simpson's powerful use of the fragment as a tool for intervention in her critically acclaimed collection Islands of Decolonial Love. Provocateur and poet, she continually rebirths a decolonized reality, one that circles in and out of time and resists dominant narratives or comfortable categorization. A crow watches over a deer addicted to road salt; Lake Ontario floods Toronto to remake the world while texting "ARE THEY GETTING IT?"; lovers visit the last remaining corner of the boreal forest; three comrades guerrilla-tap maples in an upper middle-class neighbourhood; and Kwe gets her firearms license in rural Ontario. Blending elements of Nishnaabeg storytelling, science fiction, contemporary realism, and the lyric voice, This Accident of Being Lost burns with a quiet intensity, like a campfire in your backyard, challenging you to reconsider the world you thought you knew." - Provided by publisher
At Geronimo's Grave by
Call Number: Education PR9299.1.R816A9 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Geronimo is probably the second-best-known Native American name, after Pocahontas. But the great Apache warrior's ultimate fate is little remembered. Feared for his once-great prowess long after any power he'd had was gone, Geronimo and his dwindling family were pointlessly herded from one detention centre to another in the American mid-west. The one-time warrior and horseman was eventually reduced to wearing a top hat and riding in an early Model T Ford, a grim caricature of assimilation into the dominant culture.The bitter irony of this fate echoes through the personal poems in At Geronimo's Grave. With affection and concern, Armand Ruffo examines the lives and experiences of people who struggle to make their way in a world that has no place for them. Or who have already given up that struggle. At Geronimo's Grave is a love letter to a people trapped in the slow-moving vehicle of another culture that's taking them nowhere.
Burning in This Midnight Dream by
Call Number: Weldon 5th Floor, Education PR9299.1.H3526B87 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Burning in the Midnight Dream is the latest collection of poems by Louise Bernice Halfe. Many were written in response to the grim tide of emotions, memories, dreams and nightmares that arose in her as the Truth and Reconciliation process unfolded. With fearlessly wrought verse, Halfe describes how the experience of the residential schools continues to haunt those who survive, and how the effects pass like a virus from one generation to the next. She asks us to consider the damage done to children taken from their families, to families mourning their children; damage done to entire communities and to ancient cultures.
Native Poetry in Canada by
Call Number: PR9236.I5N37 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Print. Native Poetry in Canada: A Contemporary Anthology brings together the poetry of many authors whose work has not previously been published in book form alongside that of critically-acclaimed poets, thus offering a record of Native cultural revival as it emerged through poetry from the 1960s to 2001.
Calling down the sky by
Call Number: PR9299.2.D44C35 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Print. Calling Down the Sky is a poetry collection in which Deerchild bears witness to her mother’s experience in residential school, the long-term impacts of that trauma, and both women’s resiliency.
To find more Indigenous poetry resources, click on the sample searches below:
Indigenous AND (poet*)
Search by author for material by Indigenous poets, last name first, e.g, Simpson, Leanne. Sample search: a:Simpson, Leanne
For material about Indigenous poetry, try:
(Indigenous OR "First Nations" OR aboriginal OR inuit OR metis) AND s:poet*. Perform your own search in the library catalogue.
For collection suggestions or more information about Indigenous collections at Western or the Affiliates, contact: