Traditional Medicine and Healing Resources
American Indian Medicine Ways by
Call Number: Weldon 3rd Floor E98.R3A44 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-17
Indigenous people of wisdom have offered prayers of power, protection, and healing since the dawn of time. From Wovoka, the Ghost Dance prophet, to contemporary healer Kenneth Coosewoon, medicine people have called on the spiritual world to help humans in their relationships with each other and the natural world.This collection provides stories of wisdom, spiritual power, and forces within tribal communities that have influenced the past and may influence the future. Through discussions of omens, prophecies, war, peace, ceremony, ritual, and cultural items such as masks, prayer sticks, sweat lodges, and peyote, this volume offers examples of the ways in which Native American beliefs in spirits have been and remain a fundamental aspect of history and culture. Drawing from written and oral sources, the book offers readers a greater understanding of creation narratives, oral histories, and songs that speak of healers, spirits, and power from tribes across the North American continent.
Connecting to Our Ancestral Past by
Call Number: Education E98.P95B6 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-19
"Connecting to Our Ancestral Past is a pragmatic, spiritual journey that introduces a variety of specific rituals and conversations in connection with Constellations work, an experiential process that explores one's history and powerful events of the past in order to understand and resolve problems of the present. Constellations facilitator and author Francesca Mason Boring presents this therapeutic method in the context of cultures like the Shoshone, of which she is a member, that have seen the world through a prism of interrelationships for millennia. In Constellations work there is an organic quality that requires a discipline of non-judgment, one that is embraced in traditional native circles, where the whole truth of a person's life, roots, and trans-generational trauma or challenge is understood and included." - Provided by publisher
A Cree Healer and His Medicine Bundle by
Call Number: Weldon E99.C88Y68 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-09
Providing information on and photos of medicinal plants and where to harvest them, anthropologist David E. Young and botanist Robert D. Rogers chronicle the life, beliefs, and healing practices of Medicine Man Russell Willier in his native Alberta, Canada. With Young and Rogers, Willier offers his practices here for future generations. At once a study and a guide, A Cree Healer and His Medicine Bundle touches on how indigenous healing practices can be used to complement mainstream medicine, improve the treatment of chronic diseases, and lower the cost of healthcare. The authors discuss how mining, agriculture, and forestry are threatening the continued existence of valuable wild medicinal plants and the role of alternative healers in a modern health care system.
A fire burns within : teachings from ceremony and culture by
Call Number: Education E99.C6A26 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Dr. Sharon Acoose (Associate Professor of Indigenous Social Work, First Nations University of Canada) provides an enlightening investigation into how Ceremony (using Circles/Medicine Wheels and their connectedness to the land and its people) can enable individuals to live mi’no’ – pi’maat’zhi’win’ (Saulteaux for ‘living the good life’).Specific to this book, Dr. Acoose discusses how Cree/Saulteaux culture and ceremony can be used as a tool for recovery.
Indigenous Healing by
Call Number: Weldon E78.C2R6858 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-20
"Imagine a world in which people see themselves as embedded in the natural order, with ethical responsibilities not only toward each other, but also toward rocks, trees, water and all nature. Imagine seeing yourself not as a master of Creation, but as the most humble, dependent and vulnerable part. Rupert Ross explores this indigenous world view and the determination of indigenous thinkers to restore it to full prominence today. He comes to understand that an appreciation of this perspective is vital to understanding the destructive forces of colonization. As a former Crown Attorney in northern Ontario, Ross witnessed many of these forces. He examines them here with a special focus on residential schools and their power to destabilize entire communities long after the last school has closed. With help from many indigenous authors, he explores their emerging conviction that healing is now better described as "decolonization therapy." And the key to healing, they assert, is a return to the traditional indigenous world view." - Provided by publisher
Taking Medicine by
Call Number: Weldon 5th Floor RA450.A4B87 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-28
"Hunters, medicine men, and missionaries continue to dominate images and narratives of the West, even though historians have recognized women's role as colonizer and colonized since the 1980s. Kristin Burnett helps to correct this imbalance by presenting colonial medicine as a gendered phenomenon. Although the imperial eye focused on medicine men, Aboriginal women in the Treaty 7 region served as healers and caregivers - to their own people and to settler society - until the advent of settler-run hospitals and nursing stations. By revealing Aboriginal and settler women's contributions to health care, Taking Medicine challenges traditional understandings of colonial medicine in the contact zone." - Provided by publisher
The Indigenous Health and Well-being collection presents a holistic view of health and well-being.
This collection includes resources addressing all aspects of Indigenous health and well-being. Items in the collection address Indigenous health as well as the historical, cultural and colonial factors that affect health and well-being.
Try one of our sample searches of the library catalogue:
Indigenous AND health
(Indigenous OR "First Nations" OR aboriginal OR inuit OR metis) AND (health OR healing OR well-being)
or perform your own search in the library catalogue.
For collection suggestions or more information about Indigenous collections at Western or the Affiliates, contact: