Western Libraries

Intellectual Property

John & Dotsa Bitove Family Law Library

Legal Citation

McGill Guide

Law 2HR Reserve

KF240 .C354 2014

Intellectual Property Law Databases

IP Source (WestlawNext Canada)

lPSource contains a comprehensive collection of intellectual property, civil practice, electronic commerce and information technology cases from all Canadian jurisdictions. Contains cases published in the Canadian Patent Reporter (1942- ), the Canadian Intellectual Property Reports (1984-1990) and Fox Patent Cases (1940-1971). The IPSource legislation database contains the full text of all federal, provincial and territorial legislation essential to intellectual property, information technology and electronic-commerce law practice.

Commentary includes annotated acts, relevant chapters from the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest, Fox on Canadian Law of Copyright and Industrial Designs (McKeown), Fox on Canadian Law of Trade-marks and Unfair Competition (Joliffe & Gill), and Computer, Internet, and Electronic Commerce Law (Sookman).

Intellectual Property Law Collection (HeinOnline)

This collection from HeinOnline focuses on copyrights, patents, and trademarks in the United States, and includes the following materials: legislative histories (copyright laws from 1909 to date), more than 600 books, more than 50 periodicals, Code of Federal Regulations Title 37, Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, the Official Gazette of the United States Patent Office.

Hein Guide: heinonline.org/HeinDocs/IntellectualProperty.pdf

Kluwer IP Law

Kluwer IP law is designed specifically for IP lawyers, specialists, professors and researchers. It contains three "modules" which can be searched all at once or separately : Manual IP for managing IP assets (Brown Book); Patent Law for authoritative content, news, analysis, case law and legislation; Copyright and Trademark for authoritative content, news, analysis, case law and legislation.

Canadian Patent Reporter Plus

The Canadian Patent Reporter Plus is a collection of the most important case law in the areas of patents, trademarks and competition law in Canada. The product provides access to: Canadian Patent Reporter (CPR) 1942-present as well as any related statutes and regulations in a consolidated format. The database also provides the legislative history of major intellectual property statutes going back to 1952. Available Online via the Library Catalogue.

Lexis Advance Quicklaw

Review basic Intellectual Property content by browsing Sources for the practice area or by drilling through the legal Topic. Look for caselaw digesting services, which may help you to break down your topic or for specialized secondary sources such as Halsbury’s Laws of Canada - Copyright (Hughes, Peacock).

Access is restricted to Law faculty, staff and students, who receive a personal password as part of an educational agreement between the Law School and LexisNexis Canada. Western Libraries also subscribes to LexisNexis Academic for non-law users (content may differ).

WestlawNext Canada

LawSource provides access to material useful for research in Intellectual Property law. The Canadian Abridgment Case Digests for Intellectual Property (IPY) are reproduced online, are fully searchable and link to the full-text decisions. The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest is also reproduced electronically and can be browsed or searched. Intellectual Property falls within the CED under several topics such as Copyright; Patents; Trademarks and Industrial Designs. LawSource also includes the Carswell law reporter: Canadian Intellectual Property Reports.

Access is restricted to Law faculty, staff and students, who receive a personal password as part of an educational agreement between the Law School and Thomson Reuters. Western Libraries also subscribes to a campus-wide version of WestlawNext for non-law users (access  is  restricted  for  use  within  Western  Libraries locations and  affiliates).

chat loading...