Selected Databases to Find Articles
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. Material cited includes works written about the Middle East, as well as the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, along with books, conference proceedings, multi-authored works and book reviews from 1906 to present. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Provides abstracts to scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on world history (excluding the history of Canada and the United States; see America: History and Life, above), from 1450 to the present. Includes link-outs to online full text; in many cases, embedded full text is supplied. Coverage includes all branches of world history: political; diplomatic; military; economic; social; cultural; religious; and intellectual. Also covers the history of medicine, science, and technology.
International Medieval Bibliography
World's leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from c.300 to 1500. Provides a current bibliography of more than 4,500 periodicals, as well as conference proceedings, essay collections, exhibition catalogues, and Festschriften. All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists.
Provides growing access to high-quality academic journals, and books in the humanities and social sciences. Contains full text, full image content of archival holdings. Note that there is a 5-year embargo on most JSTOR content.