PubMed includes MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE and unique citations from the following now defunct IGM databases : AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, HISTLINE, and HealthSTAR. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, PubMed is an international bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the preclinical sciences.
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) provides access to information on medical and drug-related subjects. It contains citations and abstracts from over 5000 biomedical journals from 70 countries.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases - including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and others - that contain high-quality information regarding the effects of various interventions in health care.
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology, Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are freely and permanently acessible online imediately upon publication. BioMed Central's portfolio includes over 200 peer reviewed journals.
Citation Databases (multi-disciplinary)
Web of Science
The Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Scopus is an abstracts database covering articles from peer-reviewed titles, including international publishers. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; and General Sciences.