Designing Search Strategies
- Select keywords from your research topic
- Find synonyms or related terms for each of the keyword you identified above
- Use Boolean operators (AND, OR) to connect your keyword; Combine concepts using AND, and combine alternate terms within a concept using OR
- Select search tools (library catalogue, databases, etc.)
- Conduct your search
- Review your search results and revise your search if necessary
You can use the Search Strategy Worksheet below to help you develop your search strategies.
Finding information for your MME4419/4499 and ES3399 assignments
This page contains information and links to resources useful for students in MME4419, MME4499 and ES3399 working on their projects.
Background information and basic theory:
Shared Library Catalogue
Use the Shared Library Catalogue with Western Libraries and the Affiliated University College Libraries to find books (print and online) on your topic.
CRCnetBASE offers instant access to the world's premier scientific, technical and medical references with added support for libraries.
Business and policy articles and trade publications:
Collection of data and other publications from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development - contains extensive data on energy, biotechnology, sustainability, transportation, and trade.
Summaries and analysis of research done to date (review articles):
Note: you can limit your search to treatment type of General Review or Literature Review on the main search interface before searching.
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive.
Note: You can limit search results by setting Document type = Review on the search results page.
Peer-reviewed academic journal articles:
Access the full text of articles
- Click at the Get it @ Western button to try to get fulltext online. If Get it @ Western doesn't get you fulltext, search the library catalogue's holdings by Journal Title.
- If the journal issue or conference proceeding isn't in the library catalogue, search for it on the web. You may be able to get it for free.
- If all else fails, order the article through InterLibrary Loan (RACER) (free for most items for Western users).