Western Libraries

Mobile Apps for Western Libraries

Information about apps that can be used with Western Libraries resources.

Android AppAndroid App  iOS App iOS App

App Description Android icon Apple icon
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall Streamed performances (both live and archived) from the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Users must set up an account while on-campus, using the "Get Free and Easy Access - Just Sign Up" button within the Western University pop-up window. Once registered, content is accessible from anywhere.    
BrowZine Read scholarly journals on your smartphone or tablet.
Dynamed

The DynaMed app is an evidence-based 'point-of-care' tool to access Western Libraries' subscription to DynaMed.  First, install the DynaMed app from the iTunes Store or Google Play.  Then click on DynaMed at the bottom of this Western Libraries' Database list: https://guides.lib.uwo.ca/az.php?a=d.  On the DynaMed website click on the Mobile link at the top of the page for more instructions.  Enter your email address and DynaMed will send you a key by email.  View that email on your mobile device and click on the authentication key.

ebrary

ebrary is a provider of academic e-books for multiple disciplines. For offline reading on mobile devices such as iPhones, iPads, and Android phones and tablets, ProQuest ebooks supports the independent, highly-rated Bluefire Reader.

EBSCO Databases

EBSCO provides access to the following databases: CINAHL, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete, Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (H.W. Wilson), Social Sciences Abstracts (H.W. Wilson), and Humanities Abstracts (H.W. Wilson).

Emerald Group Publishing Find, read and save content from Emerald Publishing Group on your mobile device.  
Essential Evidence Plus App

Access the evidence-based point-of-care clinical decision tool via the Stat!Ref Platform.

Mendeley Mendeley is a free, easy-to-use reference manager for collecting, organizing, citing and sharing research as well as an academic social network.
Micromedex Drug Information Micromedex content includes unbiased, referenced clinical decision support (CDS) for medication, diseases, alternative medicine, toxicology and the clinical teaching sections are invaluable. 
Natural Medicines Coming soon. Authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.    
NAXOS Music Library Stream music from the world's largest online classical music library.
PressReader Provides access to over 200 newspapers from more than 55 countries, displaying them in their original format and layout.  Please renew off-campus access every seven days by re-connecting to PressReader while on-campus or by going to the link in the library catalogue and re-entering your username and password.
PubMed4Hh PubMed for handhelds. Provides access to PubMed/Medline including PICO search, askMEDLINE and abstracts.
QxMD

Read by QxMD provides a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed.  Integrates with Western University's collections.

Calculate by QxMD converts recent research publications into practical handheld tools. It contains over 150 unique medical calculators and decision support tools from all areas of medicine.

RxTx / CPS

Canadian Pharmacists Association (CPhA) point of care prescription and drug therapy management tool.  Includes the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties - CPS  (Rx), Drug Choices (Tx), Health Canada Advisories, Medical calculators, Glossary of medical acronyms, Glossary of microorganism abbreviations, and Directory of manufacturers.

  1. Get Western's Organization Code
  2. Go to https://www.pharmacists.ca/function/et/register-for-rxtx-mobile/
  3. Enter the code and complete the registration (will be asked to create an account with a username and password).
  4. Download the RxTx Mobile from Apple/Google Play App Store
  5. Accept the “Terms of Service”
  6. Enter the Email address and password, created when you registered (you only have to do this step the first time)
  7. Content will install (and can take a few minutes)
Zotero for Mobile  Zotero is a free, open source, easy-to-use reference manager to help you collect, organize, and cite your research, and has unlimited sharing/collaboration (public or private).

 

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian Chat Service