Western Libraries

News Sources

Contemporary News Articles

Here are some resources to help you find news articles, published from approximately 1985 to current. All the listed resources contain Canadian news, however, those that focus on Canadian content are marked with the Canadian Flag.

Alt-PressWatch
This is a full-text database of more than 170 interdisciplinary newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent press.

Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies
Full text access to articles, columns, editorials and articles from leading Canadian news sources. The content is updated daily after a two-day embargo period.

CPI.Q 
This fully-electronic reference tool provides material from Canadian and international periodicals dealing with Canada.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a ProQuest database that indexes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990 to the present.

 

Factiva 
This database provides access to news from over 8,000 sources, from 118 countries in 22 languages. There are 96 Canadian publications, including The Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post.

 

LexisNexis Academic
A comprehensive resource providing full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications.

 

Library PressReader 
Read and view content from thousands of newspapers published around the world (3 simultaneous users only). Access through PressReader app must be renewed every 7 days. Connect to the PressReader in the library catalogue to renew.

 

 

 

How to Spot Fake News

chat loading...