Using Google, search for your artist on the web. Try to find a personal/professional site for the artist. If the artist is represented by a gallery or museum, take a look at the gallery web site to see if there is any information on past exhibits by your artist. They might have publications relating to the exhibit. Keep track of references to publications. Also, when conducting your web search, note any variations of artists name - nicknames etc.
Western Libraries - Book Searching
Look for books by or about your particular artist. If you don't find any references, broaden your search by looking for books about the medium that your artist works in.
For example, you can do this search in the OMNI catalogue:
(pottery OR ceramic*) AND Canad*
This particular search retrieves MANY thousands of items, but you can use facets to narrow your search to retrieve fewer, more-specific results: selecting Books & e-Books under Resource Type will retrieve 1,000+ titles. You can add your artist's name to your search-strategy to retrieve pertinent resources. (You may wish to try this BEFORE limiting to Books.)
Magazine & Newspaper Literature
Search the Library Databases to find references to articles and newspaper articles. The following databases will be helpful for this particular assignment. Some of the articles will be available right in the database. If you only find a reference or citation to an article, then the next step is to see if we have the source where the article was published. The source is the magazine or newspaper title.
Canadian Reference and Current Affairs (CBCA)
CPI-Q (Canadian Periodical Index)
Lexis Nexis Academic
Art & Multi-disciplinary Databases
You can also try searching the Art databases to see if there are any articles in scholarly journals.
Art Index Full Text
Bibliography of the History of Art
Academic Search Complete
Humanities International Complete
Going Beyond our Collection
WorldCat is a union catalogue of libraries from all over the world. This is an excellent place to look for more resources.
RACER can also be searched - and is the primary tool for making requests for items that you would like to see that we don't have available throught Western Libraries. We will track down books, articles, and pamphlets for you and this is a free service.
There are two main parts to an evaluative annotated bibliography
1) Bibliographic information about the sources you evaluate includes:
a. Complete bibliographic information according to the citation style required (Chicago)
b. Demonstrated use of a consistent style and format
c. Accurate presentation of information, including proper indentation, punctuation, italics,
underlining and order of information
2) Annotations may include some of the following elements:
a. Author credibility (Why is author credible? State credentials, authority and / or qualifications of author.)
b. Connection to topic
c. Source’s relationships to other works in the field
d. Scope and main purpose of the work
e. Accuracy of content
f. Objectivity of work
g. Relevance of coverage (Does it explicitly addresses thesis? Why is it suitable for your topic?)
h. Source’s connection to other works you have chosen
i. Source’s strengths and weaknesses
j. Source’s conclusions
k. Your personal conclusions about the source