Selected Online Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of War
Provides an overview of the most important events, people, and terms associated with warfare, from the Punic Wars to the War on Terror. Includes 100 b&w photographs, along with numerous maps.
Ancient Europe 8000 B.C.--A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World
Examines the diverse peoples of early European civilization through a series of 212 essays, presented in chronological order. Coverage includes prehistoric origins through the early Middle Ages (8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000). Includes maps, photos, and chronologies.
Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern Age
Excellent entries on various aspects of European history from 1450 to 1789. Each entry is written by a recognized scholar, and covers major topics in art, government, and education and provides biographical entries on key figures.
Europe 1789 to 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
Survey of European history from the onset of the French Revolution to the outbreak of World War. Alphabetically arranged entries cover the period's most significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare. For students, scholars, and general readers.
Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
Surveys European history from the beginning of World War I to the present. Focuses on the period's social, cultural, and scientific history, as well as political, military, and economic developments. Includes numerous entries relating to the Holocaust and genocide.
Atrocities, Massacres, and War Crimes: An Encyclopedia
Provides accessible and concise information on the difficult subject of abject human violence committed on all continents. Entries describe atrocities, massacres, and war crimes committed in the 20th century, thereby documenting how human beings have repeatedly proven their capability to commit horrific acts of inhumanity even in relatively recent times and within the modern era. Covers countries, treaties, and terms; profiles individuals who have been formally indicted for war crimes as well as those who have committed mass atrocities and gone unpunished; and addresses human rights violations, crimes against humanity, and crimes against peace.
Modern Genocide: The Definitive Resource and Document Collection
A close examination of 10 modern genocides, including the Holocaust, enhanced by documents and introductions that provide additional historical and contemporary context for learning about and understanding these tragic events.
Selected Print Encyclopedias