Selected Online Encyclopedias
Dictionary of American History
Classic reference source features updated and revised entries, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History
Covers the American participation in the Vietnam War, and also considers prior Vietnamese history, such as the French colonialism that immediately preceded America's involvement.
Oxford Companion to American Military History
Includes entries on relevant acts of Congress; on diplomatic policies; on peace and antiwar movements; on war in film, literature, music, and photography; and on war viewed through the disciplinary lenses of anthropology, economics, gender studies, and psychology.
Encyclopedia of War
Provides an overview of the most important events, people, and terms associated with warfare, from the Punic Wars to the War on Terror. Includes 100 b&w photographs, along with numerous maps.
Selected Print Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War
Contains three types of articles: brief, dictionary-like entries (50 to 1000 words) for easy reference to personalities, military units, and battles; longer articles (1000 to 2500 words) on major figures such as John F. Kennedy, Ho Chi Minh and Henry Kissinger; and extended essays (5000 to 10,000 words) that describe and interpret major themes. Also includes 200 maps, photographs and drawings that add important visual information.
Historical Dictionary of the War in Vietnam
Emphasizes the international nature of the war, as well as provides a greater understanding of the long scope of the conflict. Major events associated with the war serve as the foundation of the book; additional entries explore the military, diplomatic, political, social, and cultural events that made the war unique. Includes a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries.