Sociology

This handbook is a perfect point of entry for those curious about the state of sociological research on digital media. Each chapter reviews the sociological research that has been done thus far and points towards unanswered questions. The volume offers top sociological research that provides an overview of digital media to explain our quickly changing world to a broader public.

Indigenous Peoples demonstrate considerable resilience despite the social, health, economic, and political disparities they experience within surrounding settler societies. This book considers Indigenous resilience in many forms: cultural, spiritual, and governance traditions remain in some communities and are being revitalized in others to reclaim aspects of their cultures that have been outlawed, suppressed, or undermined. It explores how Indigenous people advocate for social justice and work to shape settler societies in ways that create a more just, fair, and equitable world for all human and non-human beings.

This handbook provides an extensive review and exploration of the myriad ways that health and media function as a symbiotic partnership that profoundly influences contemporary societies. Divided into sections on film, television, animation, photography, comics, advertising, social media, and print journalism, each chapter begins with a concrete text or texts, using it to raise more general and more theoretical issues about the medium in question.

The role that religions play in shaping gender identities and relationships has been awarded a renewed status in the study of societies and social change. In both the Global South and the Global North, in the 21st century, religiosity is of continuing significance, not only in people's private lives and in the family, but also in the public sphere and with respect to political and legal systems.

Drawing upon examples from across the world, with an emphasis on Anglo-American higher-education systems, this handbook employs sociological approaches to address concerns of greater efficiency, accountability, cost reduction, and, above all, job training in higher education. It explores recent developments in higher-education systems and policy as well as the everyday experiences of students and staff and ongoing problems of inequality and diversity within universities.

In addition to a new section of chapters focusing on ethics, privacy and the politics of social media data, the new edition of this handbook provides broader coverage of topics such as: (1) Data sources; (2) Scraping and spidering data; (3) Locative data, video data and linked data; (4) Platform-specific analysis; (5) Analytical tools; and (6) Critical social media analysis.

This handbook explores the relationship between digitisation, social organisation and social transformation at both the macro and micro level, machine learning, social media, surveillance, misinformation, digital labour, and more. It captures a field which is rapidly gaining cross-disciplinary interest and global importance, and establishes a thematic framework for future teaching and research.