Black History and Literature

The African American National Biography by Henry Louis Gates (Editor); Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham (Editor)

African American Literature: an Encyclopedia for Students by Hans A. Ostrom (Editor); J. David Macey (Editor)

Africana by Henry Louis Gates (Editor); Kwame Anthony Appiah (Editor)

Encyclopedia of African American Society by Gerald D. Jaynes (Editor)

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Colin A. Palmer; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Staff (Contribution by)

Encyclopedia of African American History by Leslie M. Alexander (Editor); Walter C. Rucker (Editor)

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by Paul Finkelman (Editor)

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Paul Finkelman (Editor)

Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions by Stephen D. Glazier (Editor)

Encyclopedia of Antislavery and Abolition by Peter P. Hinks (Editor); John McKivigan (Editor)

Encyclopedia of the Harlem Literary Renaissance by Brown, Lois

The SAGE Encyclopedia of African Cultural Heritage in North America by Shujaa, Mwalimu J.

A Companion to African American Literature by Gene Andrew Jarrett (Editor)

The Cambridge Companion to the African American Novel by Maryemma Graham (Editor)

The Cambridge Companion to African American Women's Literature by Angelyn Mitchell (Editor); Danille K. Taylor (Editor)

The Cambridge Companion to African American Theatre by Harvey Young (Editor)

The Cambridge Companion to the African American Slave Narrative by Audrey Fisch (Editor)

The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature by Andrews, William L.

The Oxford Handbook of African American Citizenship, 1865-Present by Henry Louis Gates Jr. (Editor); Claude Steele (Editor); Lawrence D. Bobo (Editor); Michael Dawson (Editor); Gerald Jaynes (Editor); Lisa Crooms-Robinson (Editor); Linda Darling-Hammond (Editor)

The Oxford Handbook of African American Language by Sonja Lanehart (Editor)

The Oxford Handbook of African American Theology by Katie G. Cannon (Editor); Anthony B. Pinn (Editor)

The Oxford Handbook of the African American Slave Narrative by John Ernest