Music Education Handbooks - starting points for research & background information
The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning by
Call Number: MT1.N48 2002
Publication Date: 2002-04-18
This comprehensive work includes sections on arts advocacy, music and medicine, teacher education, and studio instruction, among other subjects, making it an essential reference for music education programs
MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning by
Call Number: MT1.M444 2011 v.1-2
Publication Date: 2011-11-23
The MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning, Volume 1: Strategies
Volume 2: Applications
The MENC Handbook brings together the best and most current research on methods for music learning.
The Oxford Handbook of Music Education, Volume 1 by
Call Number: MT1.O93 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-08
Music education takes place in many contexts, both formal and informal. Be it in a school or music studio, while making music with friends or family, or even while travelling in a car, walking through a shopping mall or watching television, our myriad sonic experiences accumulate from the earliest months of life to foster our facility for making sense of the sound worlds in which we live. The Oxford Handbook of Music Education offers a comprehensive overview of the many facets of musicalexperience, behavior and development in relation to this diverse variety of contexts. In this first of two volumes, an international list of contributors discuss a range of key issues and concepts associated with music learning and teaching. The volume then focuses on these processes as they take place during childhood, from infancy through adolescence and primarily in the school-age years. Exploring how children across the globe learn and make music and the skills and attributes gained when they do so, these chapters examine the means through which music educators can best meet young people's musical needs. The second volume of the set brings the exploration beyond the classroom and into later life. Whether they are used individually or in tandem, the two volumes of The Oxford Handbook of Music Education update and redefine the discipline, and show how individuals across the world learn, enjoy and share the power and uniqueness of music.
The Oxford handbook of social justice in music education / by
Call Number: MT1.O96 2015
Publication Date: 2012-08-17
Music education has historically had a tense relationship with social justice. One the one hand, educators concerned with music practices have long preoccupied themselves with ideas of open participation and the potentially transformative capacity that musical interaction fosters. On the otherhand, they have often done so while promoting and privileging a particular set of musical practices, traditions, and forms of musical knowledge, which has in turn alienated and even excluded many children from music education opportunities.