Music Education

A starting-point for finding information about MUS ED in the Music Library at Western

Contact

Teaching and Learning Team

Ask a Librarian

Start here

Grove Music Online
Contains signed articles on people, places, genres, instruments, etc. Most composer articles have works lists, which serve as indexes to that composer's Collected Works; extensive bibliographies (organized from oldest to newest).

Handbooks

Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning by Richard Colwell (Editor)
Call Number: MT1.H138 1992
The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning by Richard Colwell (Editor); Carol P. Richardson (Editor); Music Educators National Conference Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: MT1.N48 2002
This comprehensive work includes sections on arts advocacy, music and medicine, teacher education, and studio instruction, among other subjects, making it an essential reference for music education programs
MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning by Richard Colwell (Editor); Peter R. Webster (Editor); MENC, the National Association for Music Education (U.S.) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: MT1.M444 2011 v.1-2
"The MENC Handbook brings together the best and most current research on methods for music learning." Volume 1: Strategies. Volume 2: Applications.
The Oxford Handbook of Music Education, Volume 1 by Gary E. McPherson (Editor); Graham F. Welch (Editor)
Call Number: MT1.O93 2012
"In this first of two volumes, an international list of contributors discuss a range of key issues and concepts associated with music learning and teaching. The volume then focuses on these processes as they take place during childhood, from infancy through adolescence and primarily in the school-age years. Exploring how children across the globe learn and make music and the skills and attributes gained when they do so, these chapters examine the means through which music educators can best meet young people's musical needs. The second volume of the set brings the exploration beyond the classroom and into later life."
The Oxford handbook of social justice in music education / by Cathy Benedict (Editor), Patrick Schmidt (Editor), Gary Spruce (Editor), and Paul Woodford (Editor).
Call Number: MT1.O96 2015
"...seeks to present a wide-ranging and comprehensive survey of social justice in music education. Contributors from around the world interrogate the complex, multidimensional, and often contested nature of social justice and music education from a variety of philosophical, political, social, and cultural perspectives."