French

Research resources for French literary and cultural studies

Contact

Ask a Librarian

Reference Tools

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, companions, and other reference tools provide an overview of a particular topic or person and can lead to further reading through their citations and bibliographies.

This section contains sample items from Western Libraries. This list does not represent everything available in Western Libraries' collection. Additional relevant resources can be found by searching Omni, and by including the words "encyclopedias," "dictionaries," "handbooks," "companions," or "reference work" in the "Subject" field.

Language and Grammar

Grand Corpus des dictionnaires
Publication Date: 2008
Le Grand Corpus des dictionnaires réunit les 24 dictionnaires les plus importants consacrés à la langue française soit près de 200 000 pages (à 2500 signes), représentant une base de données d' une richesse exceptionnelle contenant 900 000 entrées et leurs définitions.
Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: English-French by Marie-Hélène Corréard
Publication Date: 2010
This intermediate French dictionary now has a new grammar supplement that focuses on the key points of French grammar, providing invaluable support to anyone learning to speak, read, and write in French.
Le vocabulaire de la francophonie : le nouveau Littré : le dictionnaire du français à travers le monde by Claude Blum, Caroline Moulart, Michel Clément, and Emile Littré
Call Number: PC2625.V63 2006
Parce que la langue française est une langue en mouvement, une langue internationale que les communautés francophones dans leur ensemble ne cessent d'enrichir, ce Vocabulaire de la francophonie rassemble et définit des mots et des sens de près de 60 origines différentes.

Literary and Cultural Studies

The Cambridge History of French Literature by William Burgwinkle (Editor), Nicholas Hammond (Editor), and Emma Wilson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011
From Occitan poetry to Francophone writing produced in the Caribbean and North Africa, from intellectual history to current films, from medieval manuscripts to bandes dessinées, this History covers French literature from its beginnings to the present day. With equal attention to all genres, historical periods, and registers, this is the most comprehensive guide to literature written in French ever produced in English, and the first in decades to offer such an array of topics and perspectives.
Le dictionnaire du littéraire by Paul Aron, Denis Saint-Jacques, and Alain Viala
Publication Date: 2004
Dictionnaire des termes littéraires by Hendrik van Gorp and Jan Baetens
Publication Date: 2001
French adaptation of Lexicon van Literaire Termen, 7th edition, 1998, edited by H. van Gorp, D. Delabastita, and R. Ghesquiere.
Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires du Québec by Maurice Lemire and Gilles Dorion
Publication Date: 1978
Dictionnaire du roman populaire francophone by Daniel Compère
Publication Date: 2007
Dictionnaire universel des littératures by Béatrice Didier
Publication Date: 1994
A Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory by Michael Payne (Editor) and Jessica Rae Barbera (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Provides an authoritative and accessible guide to modern ideas in the broad interdisciplinary fields of cultural and critical theory.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory : Approaches, Scholars, Terms by Irena R. Makaryk (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018
Provides lucid, concise explanations of myriad approaches to literature that have arisen over the past forty years. An indispensable tool for literary theorists and historians and for all scholars and students of contemporary criticism and culture.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by Michael Kelly (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
Surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society, from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. Featuring 600 original articles by distinguished scholars from many fields and countries, it is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts, from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.