Western Libraries

Linguistics

Guide to Linguistics research

Handbooks

Each handbook in this series, covers one of the following topics in linguistics: Clinical linguistics, educational linguistics, English linguistics, world Englishes, speech perception, historical linguistics,  language variation and change, linguistics and morphology.
 
An electronic resource about current theories and recent developments on phonological research.
 
This handbook is a "a comprehensive examination of the field and is an essential addition to a growing understanding and appreciation of its far-reaching theoretical and clinical relevance".
 
Linguistics terminology broken down by area of study: Phonetics and phonology, Grammar, Semantics and pragmatics, Discourse and text analysis, Sociolinguistics, Psycholinguistics, Historical linguistics, Applied linguistics, Stylistics, Corpus linguistics.  Also includes chapters on Schools of linguistics and Key readings.
 
This series (greatly expanded from its original 3 titles) covers: comparative syntax, computational linguistics, historical iinguistics, and linguistic inferfaces. 
 
5-Volume set explores a comprehensive range of syntax topics from an historical perspective.  Also available ONLINE.
 

Available electronically,  "the encyclopedia has two parts, the first covering the conceptual framework of the discipline, the second the history of translation in major linguistic and cultural communities. The entries, in alphabetical order, range over a wide variety of topics, practices, and countries. Many are based on previously unpublished research. The work ends with a comprehensive bibliography and index." (Choice Reviews, 1998)

The Handbook of Applied Linguistics / Davies and Elder (Eds.)

Available in print. Covers applied linguistics, language teaching, and second language acquisition, and presents applied linguistics as an independent discipline that unifies practical experience and theoretical understanding of language development and language in use.

Available online via ScholarsPortal.