Ethnologue: Languages of the World
Find, read about, and research the world's 7,139 known living languages.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
This 14-volume set provides an alphabetical listing of entries about language and linguistics research. It is also available online.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
This encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines. This interdisciplinary focus makes the encyclopedia an invaluable resource not only for linguistics, but also for scholars working in the fields of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies. Also available in print in a 4 volume set, call number P29.I58 2003.
The Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics
Covers 27 key areas of applied linguistics including: language learning and teaching, bilingual and multilingual education, assessment and testing, corpus linguistics, conversation analysis, discourse, cognitive second language acquisition, language policy and planning, literacy, and technology and language.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Second Language Acquisition
An encyclopedia of terms and constructs in Second Language Acquisition (SLA) and its applications.
Encyclopedia of Language and Education
Interdisciplinary and international in coverage, this multi-volume encyclopedia covers language education theory, language policy, literacies, discourse, language acquisition, bilingual education, knowledge about language, language testing, language socialization, language ecology, and research methods.
Encyclopedia of the World's Endangered Languages
International topics include: endangered languages, language attrition, and linguistics minorities.
This encyclopedia includes detailed information on the basic, historical notion of semiotics even before it had a name; the growth and development of new models and critical areas of inquiry; and the advances in the information sciences, the cognitive neurosciences, and evolutionary biology that have given rise disciplinary hybrids.