Western Libraries

Theatre Studies

Research skills mini-tutorials

Find journal articles about theatre and performance searching these databases

  • The MLA International Bibliography provides coverage of books and journal articles on all aspects of drama, theatre and performance.

  • Literature Online (LION) contains works about  English and American drama 1280 to 2015, and also biographies and bibliographies bibliographies (such as the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature).  The database is also cross-searchable with the MLA International Bibliography and includes the Cambridge Companions to Literature. 

  • Provides access to full-text, full-image, scholarly literature. The growing database contains the archives of major research journals in a variety of academic disciplines. JSTOR offers the scanned image of each journal page as it was originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Coverage for each journal starts with the very first issue, many of which date from the 1800's.

  • Published monthly, the Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q) provides access to over 400 Canadian journals (both English- and French-language) with coverage dating back to 1947. Academic and popular sources on Canadian business, culture and history comprise much of the content available through CPI.Q, with only selected North American and international coverage.
  • Access to Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic journals, special interest publications, magazines and newspapers. 

  • Search across 13 different databases covering broad arts and humanities areas.