Encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference tools
The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance by Dennis Kennedy
Publication Date: 2010
"...is based on the celebrated Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, and covers styles and movements, buildings, organizations, regions and traditions; it has a particularly strong focus on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, anddesigners. New entries cover the people and companies who have come into prominence since the publication of the Encyclopedia.The Companion includes all the most popular and accessible information from the Encyclopedia, concentrating primarily on the personalities involved in producing theatre, as well as overviews of the genres within which they work."
The Oxford Companion to Canadian Theatre by Eugene Benson (Editor); L. W. Conolly (Editor)
Call Number: PN2301.O93 1989
"The Canadian theatre has seen an extraordinary growth in writing talent and new professional companies in the last two decades. This is the first book accurately to chart its expansion and development from the beginnings to the present day. With some 680 entries including biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers and details of major plays, and such diverse subjects as theatres and companies, collective theatre, ethnic theatre, musical theatre, and radio and television drama, this is a unique and definitive reference work, offering a mine of fascinating information to all readers interested in the theatre."
Cambridge Histories Online
Included in this series are Cambridge History of American Theatre and Cambridge History of British Theatre.
North American Theatre Online
"Provides detailed reference information on all aspects of the Canadian and American theatre. The database will grow to include entries for every author, play, theatre, major production, and production company from the 1600s to the present."
Historical Dictionary of American Theater by James Fisher; Felicia Hardison Londré
Call Number: PN2266.3.F57 2008
"...focuses on legitimate drama, both as influenced by European modernism and as impacted by the popular entertainment that also enlivened the era. This is accomplished through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced entries on plays; music; playwrights; great performers like Maude Adams, Otis Skinner, Julia Marlowe, and E.H. Sothern; producers like David Belasco, Daniel Frohman, and Florenz Ziegfield; critics; architects; designers; and costumes."
Historical Dictionary of Contemporary American Theater by James Fisher
Call Number: PN2266.3.F575 2011
"...presents the plays and personages, movements and institutions, and cultural developments of the American stage from 1930 to 2010, a period of vast and almost continuous change. It covers the ever-changing history of the American theater with emphasis on major movements, persons, plays, and events. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 1,500 cross-referenced dictionary entries."