Western Libraries

Chemistry 4491E Library Information Session

This course guide contains information about and links to resources relevant to the Chem 4491E (Chemical Research Discovery and Scientific Communication) library instruction session.

Primary Literature

Check Journal Citation Reports (JCR) for locating key journals
Consult Ulrich's Periodical Directory to identify scholarly journals

Recommended databases:

SciFinder: Its coverage includes journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, and patents (from many patent issuing organizations). You can search by research topic, chemical substance, structure and substructure. Click for CAS database content and SciFinder content - biomedical information. Registration is a two-part process and must be completed from within the University's IP range. Learn about Web version system requirements and access online training materials.
(Note: Please register for your individual account prior to attending the library session.)

PubMed: Produced by the National Library of Medicine, PubMed is an international bibliographic database that covers the fields of medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the health care system from 1966 to the present.

GeoRef : The database is for geology and geography disciplines, including literature in geochemistry and environmental chemistry.  

Web of Science / Scopus: Two interdisciplinary databases; comprehensive; citation tracking tools. 

Dissertations & Theses: Multiple databases from ProQuest provide subject, title, and author access to dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. You can access full-text documents for many dissertations and theses. For more resources, please see Library Guide: How to Find Dissertations.  

Sources for PatentsThe program page contains links to tutorials, sources, and readings regarding patents.