Communication and Communication Disorders by
Call Number: WL340.2.P713c 2013
Publication Date: 2012-08-14
Featuring contributions from leading experts, "Communication and Communication Disorders: "" A Clinical Introduction, 4e "blends science, clinical applications, and introductory concepts to help readers develop a sound understanding of the field. Appropriate for both majors and non-majors, the text's consistent format and unifying organization address communication disorders involving articulation, fluency, voice and swallowing, language, and hearing. Focusing on communication disorders over the lifespan, the text balances speech-language pathology and audiology and includes separate chapters devoted to child and adult disorders. This edition includes a new chapter on pediatric audiology; expanded discussion of language acquisition; and more information on autism, ADHD, intellectual disabilities, and childhood aphasia. Case illustrations, figures, and photographs are used liberally to illustrate concepts and a capstone chapter highlights possible careers.
Acoustics for Audiologists (ebook) by
Call Number: WV270.H371a 2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Many who come to work in audiology have little previous training in acoustics, or in the physical sciences generally. They find these subjects difficult, but when they seek help from books on audiology, they are likely to find only superficial accounts whereas books on acoustics mostly assume a physics-based readership and are consequently too difficult for the general reader. Acoustics for Audiologists fills the gap. It can be read at several levels. At the most basic, it provides a full explanation of many of the general principles and special terms in acoustics that are relevant to clinical audiology and audiological science. The main text is supported by an introductory chapter covering the underlying physics, an appendix on the required mathematics, and worked examples and questions. At a more advanced level, the book answers the needs of students of audiological science and audiological medicine for whom previous studies have not included the physical sciences. * Written for audiologists, trainee audiological scientists, and students of audiological medicine * Supporting text includes a quick review of the relevant physics and mathematics * Special exercises in working with decibels * Worked examples to assist self-study and as a source for taught courses * More than 170 figures
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders (ebook) by
Call Number: WL13.M679 2004
Publication Date: 2003-09-26
A massive reference work on the scale of MITECS (The MIT Encyclopedia of Cognitive Sciences), The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders will become the standard reference in this field for both research and clinical use. It offers almost 200 detailed entries, covering the entire range of communication and speech disorders in children and adults, from basic science to clinical diagnosis.MITECD is divided into four sections that reflect the standard categories within the field (also known as speech-language pathology and audiology): Voice, Speech, Language, and Hearing. Within each category, entries are organized into three subsections: Basic Science, Disorders, and Clinical Management. Basic Science includes relevant information on normal anatomy and physiology, physics, psychology and psychophysics, and linguistics; this provides a scientific foundation for entries in the other subsections. The entries that appear under Disorders offer information on the definition and characterization of specific disorders, and tools for their identification and assessment. The Clinical Management subsection describes appropriate interventions, including behavioral, pharmacological, surgical, and prosthetic.Because the approach to communication disorders can be quite different for children and adults, many topics include separate entries reflecting this. Although some disorders that are first diagnosed in childhood may persist in some form throughout adulthood, many disorders can have an onset in either childhood or adulthood, and the timing of onset can have many implications for both assessment and intervention.Topics covered in MITECD include cochlear implants for children and adults, pitch perception, tinnitus, alaryngeal voice and speech rehabilitation, neural mechanisms of vocalization, holistic voice therapy techniques, computer-based approaches to children?s speech and language disorders, neurogenic mutism, regional dialect, agrammatism, global aphasia, and psychosocial problems associated with communicative disorders.
Handbook for Evidence-Based Practice in Communication Disorders by
Call Number: WL340.2.D665h 2007
Publication Date: 2007-07-31
With this landmark textbook, speech-language pathologists will learn to apply current best evidence as they make critical decisions about the care of each individual they serve. The first text that covers this cutting-edge topic for the communication disorders field, this book introduces SLPs to the principles and process of evidence-based practice, thoroughly covering its three primary components: "external" evidence from systematic research, "internal" evidence from clinical practice, and evidence concerning patient preferences. SLPs will get the in-depth guidance they need to construct the right questions about best evidence find the reliable information they need to answer these questions evaluate the validity of both internal and external evidence weigh the importance of empirical evidence, whether from a research study or from an individual patient help patients fully understand clinical options and express their preferences conduct systematic, critical appraisals of treatment evidence, diagnosis and screening evidence, and evidence from systematic reviews or meta-analyses Developed by Christine A. Dollaghan, one of the most highly respected researchers in the field of language acquisition and disorders, this text makes complex concepts understandable with its clear, reader-friendly language, vivid step-by-step examples of key processes, and illuminating figures and tables. SLPs will come away with a solid, practical understanding of evidence-based practice--knowledge they'll use throughout their careers to make sound clinical decisions about the screening, diagnosis, and treatment of communication disorders.
Concise Encyclopedia of Language Pathology (ebook) by
Call Number: WL13.C744 1999
Publication Date: 1999-04-23
This work will provide readers with uniquely systematic coverage of the field of speech and language pathology. Taking as its starting point the highly successful Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics, the book comprises selected updates from the original work combined with a high proportion of newly commissioned material which together give a comprehensive overview of the state of the art in speech and language pathology. The work is the most up-to-date and detailed reference available in this field. The book addresses all main aspects related to speech and language comprehension and production, both in children and in normal adults. It also presents in a systematic way disorders of speech and language due to developmental and acquired causes, the most common forms of treatment and their degree of efficacy.