SciFinder is a key database for chemistry, chemical and biochemical engineering, environmental sciences, materials science, and geochemistry. Its coverage includes journal articles, conference papers and patents from many patent issuing organizations. You can search by research topic, chemical substance, structure and substructure.
Individual users must register for an account. Registration is a two-part process and must be completed from within the University's IP range. We recommend that you don't use your Western Identity username and password when registering for a SciFinder web account. Register Now for your own SciFinder Web account - Restricted to UWO faculty, staff, and students. Please be aware that your SciFinder account is for your own use only, must not be shared with anyone, and must not be used for any commercial research. Currently, we have access to two versions, SciFinder-Web (old version) and SciFinder-n (new version). This new version has a different interface and search algorithm, offering more filter options than the old version and includes a Google-like "All Search" function. * It should be noted that SciFinder web will be retired on December 30, 2022, and that it will not be an option to continue using it past that date.
Provides access to three multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Each Web of Science database includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography). This unique feature allows searching for articles that cite a known author or work. Web of Science Tutorial
