Earth Sciences

GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences. It covers the geology of North America from 1669-present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933-present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

Its coverage includes journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, and patents (from many patent issuing organizations). You can search by research topic, chemical substance, structure and substructure. Find the SciFinder-n registration link on the library catalogue record. The registration is a two-part process and must be completed from within the University's IP range (i.e. on campus). Learn about Web version system requirements and access online training materials.

Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical, and medical (STM) literature. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy, and comprehensive.

The Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high-impact research journals in the world.

American Geophysical Union's Digital Library Collection of publications from the American Geophysical Union (includes journals, books, lectures/interviews). Full-text (journal articles) / Full-text (e-book collection) from 1896.

"The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth science literature available. Bringing together key journals, Special Publications and Society book series on a single electronic platform, the Lyell Collection is a unique resource for researcher and student alike" (from the publisher's website).

OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry. Launched in March 2007, OnePetro currently contains more than 130,000 documents, with more being added frequently. The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) is operating OnePetro on behalf of the participating organizations. Current organizations with technical documents in OnePetro: API, ARMA, ASSE, IPTC, ISRM, OTC, NACE, NETL, PETSOC, PSIG, SEG, SPE, SPEE, SPWLA, SUT, WPC.