Find Background Information: Handbooks and Encyclopedias
Handbooks and encyclopedias (aka, reference materials) and monographs will provide you with some of the background information you need for your projects.
Use Omni to find books (print and online) on your topic from Western Libraries and the Affiliated University College Libraries
A large collection of E-books by McGraw Hill for engineering subject areas. Check the AccessEngineering LibGuide
for content coverage, user guides, and video tutorials.
CRCnetBASE (Taylor & Francis)
CRCnetBASE is an e-book collection by Taylor & Francis, offering instant access to the world's premier scientific, technical and medical reference
Find Scholarly Articles
You can find primary information sources, such as articles and conference papers, in the following databases:
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
The IEEE Explore Digital Library provides web access to more than four-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE standards are available in this collection, too.
Web of Science
The Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high-impact research journals in the world.
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical, and medical (STM) literature. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy, and comprehensive.
Check Journal Citation Reports (JCR) for locating key journals
Consult Ulrich's Periodical Directory to identify scholarly journals
Access other research materials by the following guides:
What if the library doesn't have an article or book you want? Use the Interlibrary Loan / RACER system to request it from another library (generally free of charge for Western users).
IEEE Citation Guides:
Brief Guide (5 pages)
IEEE Reference Guide (40 pages)
Research Process Toolkit
The tutorial toolkit is a collection of Western Libraries tutorials specific to the research process. Organized as a step by step series from the beginning to the end of the research process, this toolkit helps equip undergraduate students with essential research skills along with the knowledge of various ways the Library can help.
Other Research Guides to Check Out!