BrowZine - Environmental Science and Biology Journals
BIOSIS Previews is a comprehensive index of life sciences and biomedical research worldwide including: journals, meetings, patents, and books. Biological Abstracts (which indexes over 5,000 journals) and Biological Abstracts/RRM ( reports, reviews & meetings) comprise BIOSIS Previews. A complete literature search of Biological Abstracts can be accomplished by searching BIOSIS Previews online and the following print indexes: Biological Abstracts 1926-1979. TUTORIAL
SciFinder is a key database for chemistry, chemical and biochemical engineering, environmental sciences, materials science, and geochemistry. Its coverage includes journal articles, conference papers and patents from many patent issuing organizations. You can search by research topic, chemical substance, structure and substructure.
Individual users must register for an account. Registration is a two-part process and must be completed from within the University's IP range. We recommend that you don't use your Western Identity username and password when registering for a SciFinder web account. Register Now for your own SciFinder Web account - Restricted to UWO faculty, staff, and students. Please be aware that your SciFinder account is for your own use only, must not be shared with anyone, and must not be used for any commercial research.
- Web version system requirements
- Stay up to date with literature in your area using 'Keep Me Posted' alerting feature
- Western Libraries' subscription allows up to 10 simultaneous users to use SciFinder: please quit the program as soon as you have finished (you will be automatically disconnected after 15 minutes inactivity); if see a message saying "Your allocated system resources are currently unavailable to access SciFinder," please try again later- Off-campus access using EZ-Proxy.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Covers information for the science, technology, and management of marine and freshwater environments. Citations also cover socio-economic and legal aspects of the aquatic sciences. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and two international partners.
Web of Science
Provides access to three multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Each Web of Science database includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography). This unique feature allows searching for articles that cite a known author or work. Tutorial
Zoological Record Plus provides extensive coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. The database provides an easily searched collection of references from over 4,500 international serial publications, plus books, meetings, reviews and other non serial literature from over 100 countries. | ZR Plus Reference Card|
Is the online version of the American Geological Institute's geoscience database containing over 1.9 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933. The database is the equivalent of four major reference publications: Bibliography of North Amercian Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Geophysical Abstracts, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. Additional items come from special bibliographies produced on request for state surveys or societies, and annual subject and author indexes. Check for Holdings Activated