Economics

Contact

Western Libraries

Canadian Data & Statistics

odesi
(Ontario Data Documentation, Extraction Service and Infrastructure) is a digital repository for social science data, including polling data. provides access to extensive collections of polling and social survey data including: Canadian Opinion Research Archive (CORA) , Canadian Gallup , and Ipsos Reid . Statistics Canada's public-use survey data forms the core of 's social survey data holdings.
CANSIM
CANSIM (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System) is a Statistics Canada database that contains thousands of time series covering virtually every area of economic activity. Topics covered include: the System of National Accounts, Labour, Manufacturing, Construction, Trade, Agriculture and Finance.

Strategis Economic and Market Research/Statistics
Excellent website for finding information on all aspects of the Canadian economy.

International data and statistical

China Data Online
This is a comprehensive online database focusing on economic statistics of China. You will find monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the provincial, county, and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.
OECD iLibrary
Replacing SourceOECD, the OECD iLibrary is an Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) analysis and data. Some resources in this collection are available to Western users only,requiring Off Campus Log-in.
IMF E-Library
IMF-E-Library Data, restricted to Western users, contains annual, monthly, and quarterly financial and economic time series covering more than 200 countries and 40 regional and special groups of countries. Useful for finding data on the following topics, and more: International Financial Statistics (IFS); Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS); Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS); Government Finance Statistics (GFS); Trade and Investment
World Development Indicators (WDI)
World Development Indicators (WDI Online), available to Western users only, is the premier data source on the global economy. It contains statistical data for over 575 development indicators and time series data from 1960--2002 for over 220 countries and country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Data selection screens are intuitive and easy to use. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data can also be exported in standard formats like Excel. The database is updated periodically with annual data loaded in May.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) World Data, available to Western users only, provides continually updated reports on 150 countries. World Data offers a statistical description of international economies for the last 20 years and provides forecasts for the next five years.

United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
Excellent starting point for statistics from the United States
International Labour Organization Statistics
Statistics collected by the UN agency. Data from 1945 on employment, wages, CPI, labour force surveys, and more. The Yearbook of Labour Statistics is also available in the Weldon Library, Government Information Collection for volumes from 1934- 2009. Call #: HA155.E3Y43
UNData
UNdata covers all countries and areas, collecting statistical information from member states on a variety of topics. UNData contains over 60 million data points, covering a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

Map & Data Centre

Services available at the Map and Data Centre include access to data and map collections and reference assistance related to locating and using statistics, microdata, cartographic materials and geospatial files.

Staff at the Western Map & Data Centre are available for consultations pertaining to data, maps, and GIS. Please Contact the Map and Data Centre to schedule an appointment. For immediate help, please contact the Service Desk at the Map and Data Centre.