Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks and Companions
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, companions and other reference tools provide an overview of a particular topic or person, and can lead to further reading through their citations and bibliographies.
This section contains sample items in Western Libraries. This list does not represent everything available from Western Libraries. Additional relevant resources can be found by searching Omni, and by including the word(s) encyclopedia, dictionary, handbook, companion or reference in the Subject field.
Native Americans on Film by
Publication Date: 2013
"...draws inspiration from the Indigenous film movement, bringing filmmakers into an intertextual conversation with academics from a variety of disciplines. The resulting dialogue opens a myriad of possibilities for engaging students with ongoing debates: What is Indigenous film? Who is an Indigenous filmmaker? What are Native filmmakers saying about Indigenous film and their own work? This thought-provoking text offers theoretical approaches to understanding Native cinema, includes pedagogical strategies for teaching particular films, and validates the different voices, approaches, and worldviews that emerge across the movement."
Film Feminisms by
Publication Date: 2018
"...offers a global and updated overview of the history, present-day concerns, and future of feminist film and theory. It introduces frameworks from phenomenology, affect theory, and psychoanalysis to reception studies, new media theories, and critical historiography, as well as engaging with key issues in documentary ethics, genre theory, and star studies."
African Film Studies by
Publication Date: 2018
"...is an accessible and authoritative textbook on African cinema as a field of study. The book provides a succinct and comprehensive study of the history, aesthetics, and theory of sub-Saharan African cinematic productions that is grounded in the field of film studies instead of textual interpretations from other disciplines."
A Companion to Chinese Cinema by
Publication Date: 2012
"...is a collection of original essays written by experts in a range of disciplines that provide a comprehensive overview of the evolution and current state of Chinese cinema. Represents the most comprehensive coverage of Chinese cinema to date. Applies a multidisciplinary approach that maps the expanding field of Chinese cinema in bold and definitive ways. Draws attention to previously neglected areas such as diasporic filmmaking, independent documentary, film styles and techniques, queer aesthetics, star studies, film and other arts or media."
A Companion to Latin American Cinema by
Publication Date: 2017
"...offers a wide-ranging collection of newly commissioned essays and interviews that explore the ways in which Latin American cinema has established itself on the international film scene in the twenty-first century. Features contributions from international critics, historians, and scholars, along with interviews with acclaimed Latin American film directors. Includes essays on the Latin American film industry, as well as the interactions between TV and documentary production with feature film culture."