Gender and Music

Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide an overview of a particular topic or person, and can lead to further reading through their citations and bibliographies.

This section contains sample items in Western Libraries' collection, and does not represent everything available from Western Libraries. Additional relevant resources can be found by searching Western Libraries' catalogue, and by including the word(s) "encyclopedias" or "dictionaries" in the Subject field.

     These articles are now a part of Grove Music online. Other articles of interest in Grove Music Online                           include Gender and Music, and Women in music.

     Volume 1 contains articles on Gender and Sexuality, Feminism and Women's studies

     Includes articles on Gender and Sexuality and Women in Music in various global contexts.

This section contains sample bibliographies and discographies in Western Libraries' collection, and does not represent everything available from Western Libraries. Additional relevant resources can be found by searching Omni, and by including the word "bibliography" or "discography" in the Subject field.

The following subject headings may provide a good starting point when searching for resources, however, they do not represent everything available from Western Libraries.

• Gender identity in music
• Music by women composers
• Feminism and music
• Women musicians
• Masculinity in music
• Sex role in music

Western Libraries uses Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) to facilitate the discovery of information within Omni. We acknowledge that some of these subject headings contain offensive or discriminatory language. Please see Problematic Language in the Library Catalogue: Statement of Acknowledgement.