Health Information Science

Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical, and medical (STM) literature. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy, and comprehensive.

One of the two most important databases for Library and Information Science, Library Literature and Information Science Full Text includes references articles from selected library journals, books (more than 600 a year), conference proceedings, library school theses, pamphlets, and book reviews. The full text in pdf format is often available directly through the database. Access has been kindly provided by the Graduate Resource Centre in the Faculty of Information and Media Studies.

Please note: The other major database for library science, Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA), is available only via the FIMS Graduate Library in Western's Faculty of Information and Media Studies. Please visit the FIMS Graduate Library where you can learn about accessing this database which is accessible by FIMS graduate students and faculty from other locations via the FIMS network.

Off-campus access may not work after logging into an Ebsco account. This is being investigated and we apologize for the inconvenience.

CINAHL provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

Produced by the National Library of Medicine, PubMed is an international bibliographic database of over 4500 biomedical journals. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the preclinical sciences.