Selected Online Encyclopedias
Modern Genocide: The Definitive Resource and Document Collection
Modern Genocide is a close examination of 10 modern genocides, including the Holocaust, enhanced by documents and introductions that provide additional historical and contemporary context for learning about and understanding these tragic events.
Atrocities, Massacres, and War Crimes: An Encyclopedia
Atrocities, Massacres, and War Crimes provides accessible, concise information on the difficult subject of abject human violence committed on all continents. Entries describe atrocities, massacres, and war crimes committed in the 20th century, documenting how human beings have repeatedly proven their capability to commit horrific acts of inhumanity even within the modern era. It covers countries, treaties, and terms; profiles individuals who have been formally indicted for war crimes as well as those who have committed mass atrocities and gone unpunished; and addresses human rights violations, crimes against humanity, and crimes against peace.
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts contains case studies which explore modern ethnic conflicts, including the genocide in Rwanda. Its geographical range encompasses nearly every continent. The Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts is organized alphabetically by country and region; each essay begins with a timeline and then explores the historical background, evolution, efforts to manage, and significance of the conflict. Suggestions for follow-up research and appendices of relevant, primary source materials are also included.
The Holocaust Encyclopedia is a project of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Provides links to images, documents, bibliographies, personal stories, historical film footage and other resources. Also contains nearly 300 brief articles.
Europa World Plus
Provides historical and current coverage of political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. Includes basic statistical measures, as well as longer essay-length entries on history and economics.
Encyclopaedia Judaica is a comprehensive and authoritative English-language encyclopedia of the Jewish people and their faith. It includes numerous entries on various aspects of the Holocaust.
New Encyclopedia of Africa
New Encyclopedia of Africa covers the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south, through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries. This database contains entries on various countries, including Rwanda and Sudan, as well as thematic entries (e.g. Ethnicity, Warfare).
Europe Since 1914 : Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
Europe Since 1914 surveys European history from the beginning of World War I to the present. It focuses on the period's scientific, social, and cultural history, as well as the political, military, and economic developments. It includes numerous entries relating to the Holocaust and genocide.
Selected Print Encyclopedias