Western Libraries

History 1401E - Modern Europe, 1715 to the Present: Conflict and Transformation

Selected Digital Primary Sources

Selected Newspaper Primary Sources

All historical newspapers listed below are available online, and include full text, full image content of the original newspapers.

United Kingdom

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers - represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media; includes newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).  Charts the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers', and the "free press".  Many Burney newspapers are well known; however, many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden.

19th Century British Library Newspapers - includes full runs of newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent 19th century Britain. Contains national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from established country or university towns, the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Library has Part I and Part II.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - since 1791, the world's major events have been documented in the pages of the Guardian and the Observer.  The newspapers can be searched simultaneously or separately:

  • The Guardian, 1821 to 2003
  • The Observer, 1791 to 2003

Times Digital Archive - offers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 to 1985.  Is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication.

Worldwide

Paper of Record - includes selective historical content dating from 1752 to 2004 for the United Kingdom, the United States, Australlia, the Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, The Netherlands, Spain, and Mexico.

Selected Microform Primary Sources

Selected Government Information Primary Sources