Produced by the National Library of Medicine, PubMed is an international bibliographic database of over 4500 biomedical journals. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the preclinical sciences.
Contains information on the following: sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.
Physical Education Index
The articles in this database contain information ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered.
CINAHL provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Scopus covers articles from over 14,000 peer-reviewed titles, including international publishers. Subject coverage includes Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; and General Sciences.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to three multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Each Web of Science database includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography). This unique feature allows searching for articles that cite a known author or work.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services. Provides comprehensive bibliographic coverage of a wide variety of evaluation and measurement tools for health and psychosocial studies, for practitioners, educators, researchers, and students. Database includes questionnaires, checklists, index measures, rating scales, project techniques, tests, interview schedules, and a variety of other means of evaluation.
Dissertations & Theses
Provides subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Masters theses have been selectively indexed since 1962. Abstracts are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present. The full text of over 100,000 dissertations is available. In addition, the database serves to disseminate citations for thousands of Canadian dissertations and an increasing number of papers accepted in institutions abroad.
From the University of Oregon, Kinesiology Publications (formerly Microform Publications of Human Movement Studies) archives and disseminates graduate research studies (master's and doctoral dissertations) in electronic format. Research focuses on health as it relates to physical activity, physical fitness, activities of daily living, work, sport and athletics, recreation, dance, and play.