Management and Organizational Studies - Brescia

This updated fifth edition of Encyclopedia of Management covers more than 300 topics in management theories and applications, written by academics and business professionals.

The International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies is a definitive description of the field, spanning individual, organizational, societal, and cultural perspective in a cross-disciplinary manner. Editors Stewart R. Clegg and James R. Bailey have sought to capture much of the cutting-edge thinking that characterizes the best scholarship internationally. The Encyclopedia is thoroughly cross-referenced and entries are based around a series of broad themes. Key Features - Offers a comprehensive overview of many of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterise this diverse field of organization studies - Illustrates the fluidity, dynamism, and innovation that now occur in organization studies-internationally - Brings together a team of international contributors from the fields of: Management, Psychology, Sociology, Communications, Education, Political Science, Public Administration, Anthropology, Law and other related areas. - Examines how organizations are devices for structuring life and lives are structured by organizations Key themes include organization; Careers Struture Design Communications Cultures Diversity Innovation Change Strategy Power Leadership Learning Knowledge Ethics Theory Research Conflict Politics

The second edition of this flagship business and management reference work is divided into 12 individual subject volumes and an index and includes a brand new volume on Entrepreneurship: Comprises over 6500 specially commissioned and carefully edited entries Written and edited by international teams of over 1500 of the world′s best scholars and teachers Features extended bibliographies of relevant, wider, international literature and the foremost global scholarship in each field Flexible, multi-level use, maintained and further extended by sophisticated cross-referencing both among individual encyclopedia entries and between volumes and external sources Available online, for the first time, via the EBSCO database and linked to wider literature and to an associated Blackwell Library Online, consisting of a selection of Blackwell Handbooks and Journals in the field. Register with us to receive updates on this landmark project at www.managementencyclopedia.com where you will find further details, a special pre-publication offer and, coming soon, contributor browsing features.

This reference text provides full histories of the world's largest and most influential companies and includes details of basic company statistics and principle subsidiaries. This volume examines industries involved in retail, rubber, telecommunications, textiles, transportation and tobacco.

This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary contains 7,000 entries covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behaviour, business strategy, law, and taxation. Written by a team of experts, it features the very latest terminology, for example, therecent vocabulary associated with structured finance and the associated subprime lending crisis, including collaterized debt obligation and special purpose vehicle.The new edition of this established bestseller dispels modern financial and management jargon, defining entries in a clear, concise, and accessible manner. It contains US business terms, general management concepts (e.g. competence, knowledge management), named theories (e.g. Tannenbaum and Schmidt,Blake and Mouton) as well as expanded coverage of the contemporary theory of the firm and human resources. New terms are included from the fast-moving areas of current affairs (e.g. MiFID), Internet business and information technology and there is full coverage of the new Companies Act. Withrecommended web links for many entries, accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Business and Management companion website, this edition is more informative than ever. This A-Z reference work is essential for business students, teachers and professionals, and useful for anyone needinga guide to business terminology.

The "Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Management" provides clear, concise, up to the minute and highly informative definitions and explanations of the key concepts covering the whole of the fast changing field of international management.

The authoritative source of precise and easy to understand definitions of words, terms, and phrases that are used in the fields of Human Resource Management, Personnel, and Industrial Relations, this new edition of the Dictionary of Human Resource Management has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect changes in vocabulary and usage.