New Books at the Business Library
Creative Leadership by
Call Number: HD57.7 .G465 2022
Publication Date: 2022-06-15
The changing realities of our time--especially the unprecedented situation in 2020--calls for leadership that moves beyond outdated models or frameworks that are driven by the tired rhetoric of management, business, or patriarchal notions of commandment. There is a need for new forms of leadership that are more empathetic and expansive, conversational and communal, and above all, creative. This informative and accessible book examines whether designers can actually be leaders and, if so, whether they can be better leaders because of their creative capability. It then examines how the tools of design, particularly in its most human-centred and collaborative form, might actually hold the key for the next generation of leadership. Creative leadership is based on three values that give everyone leadership potential: creativity, clarity, and empathy.
Designing organisations : why it matters and ways to do it well
Call Number: HD58.8 .S6957 2022
Organisation design matters. Every organisation has a better chance of success if it's designed properly, and that design is regularly reviewed, refreshed and updated to reflect and support organisational goals.
Based on the latest thinking and research, and taking into account the profound impact the Covid-19 pandemic has had on how we think about work, Designing Organisations offers five key principles of organisational design that we can all adopt and deploy. Together, they provide a framework that balances the needs of today's strategies and operations with the agility to look ahead and meet the challenges of a rapidly evolving business environment.
The Digital Multinational by
Call Number: HD2755.5 .N38 2022
How multinational companies can use digital technology to compete in a world where business is driven by the forces of both globalization and deglobalization. Digital technology has put globalization on steroids; multinational companies now account for one-third of world GDP and one-fourth of world employment. And yet complicating this story of unchecked global capitalism are two contradictory forces. Even as advances in digital technology enable borderless markets, a new nationalism has emerged, reviving protectionism and railing against digital colonialism. In The Digital Multinational, management experts Satish Nambisan and Yadong Luo examine how companies can adopt a dual strategy to cope with this new normal- harnessing the power of digital technology while adapting to the geopolitical realities of particular markets. Key to success, Nambisan and Luo explain, is the notion of tight and loose coupling to characterize the relationship of the digital multinational to its global partners and subsidiaries. Identifying the tightness-looseness requirements of global business connectivity leads to successful business strategy. Drawing on real-world examples that include Burberry's entrance into the Chinese market, Unilever's AI-powered global talent marketplace, and the Vocal for Local movement in India, they develop a typology of global business contexts; discuss digital strategies for entering new markets, establishing digital platforms, managing globally dispersed activities, and pursuing innovation; and explain how these strategies can be part of a business leader's toolkit. The Digital Multinational is an essential guide to competing in a business world driven by both globalization and deglobalization.
Field Guide for Research in Community Settings - Ebook
Publication Date: 2021
This insightful book offers practical advice to fieldworkers in social research, enabling robust and judicious applications of research methods and techniques in data collection. It also outlines data collection challenges that are commonly faced when working in the field. Authors address key strategies to tackle the major challenges to fieldwork, including advice on using indigenous or innovative skills and making intelligent use of the advantages already available within standard research methodologies. International contributors provide a hands-on account of research methodologies as applied in the field, with particular focus on research ethics and community culture and interactions. The book offers a number of useful case studies, featuring examples of the application of research techniques in different cultural and socio-economic contexts. Utilizing an innovative and dynamic 'storytelling' method, this book will be a useful research tool for fieldworkers engaging in social science research in community settings, as well as students in the field learning the core techniques of fieldwork.
GRIP : the art of working smart (and getting to what matters most)
Call Number: HD69.T54 P3713 2022
Publication Date: https://ocul-uwo.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01OCUL_UWO/r0c2m8/alma991045094521505163
"The week just started and already you're playing catch-up. At the end of another busy day, your to-do list is longer than it was this morning. Enter GRIP: the book for everyone who has too much to do. This fresh, no-nonsense guide brings clarity and direction to even the most hectic workweek. Using tools you know - like your calendar, to-do list, and email - GRIP walks you through working smarter, thinking bigger, and clearing the way for what matters most. And GRIP's pick-and-choose structure makes it easy to dive in and start applying what you like straightaway. So you can reclaim your time and start chasing your wildest dreams. Today"--Publisher's description.
Handbook of research on business and technology incubation and acceleration : a global perspective - Ebook
Publication Date: 2021
"This pioneering work explores both the theory and practice of business and technology incubation and acceleration over the past six decades as an approach to new venture creation and development. With a global scope, the 'Handbook' examines incubation concepts, models, and mechanisms, providing a research-based analytical foundation from which to understand the emerging role of modern incubators, accelerators, science parks, and related support tools in building modern entrepreneurship ecosystems for promoting targeted economic development. Featuring contributions from internationally renowned scholars and practitioners, the 'Handbook' covers four major themes: understanding incubation and acceleration; incubation mechanisms and entrepreneurship ecosystem development; national and regional incubation policy studies; and incubation practice and assessment. Chapters investigate the expanding importance of newer models and novel modes of new venture support such as smart launching through focused training, mentoring, and financing."-- Provided by publisher.
Remote Workplace Culture by
Call Number: HD66 .O464 2022
The way we work has changed and a strong, supportive company culture is key for success. When employees work remotely, even occasionally, HR professionals and business leaders need to think differently. Practitioners now need to motivate their workforce, support talent development, ensure an inclusive environment and protect their employees' mental health, all without being in the same physical space. A strong and effective company culture that is built specifically with this purpose in mind is crucial. Remote Workplace Culture is a practical guide that shows how to achieve this and explains why simply replicating what used to happen in the office in a virtual environment doesn't work. This book shows how a strong culture for remote, hybrid and flexible working helps attract the best talent, whether this is nationally or globally and explains how to prioritize inclusion. There is also specific guidance on wellbeing initiatives, how to replace social learning in a hybrid or remote working culture and how to avoid common pitfalls such as an overreliance on technology, the blurring of work/life boundaries and a misunderstanding of remote working etiquette. Supported by case studies from BBC, Salesforce, leading financial services brands and law firms, Remote Workplace Culture is essential reading for all HR professionals and business leaders needing to develop strong company culture in the new world of work.
Research Handbook of Sustainability Agency - Ebook
Publication Date: 2021
"This innovative Research Handbook answers crucial questions about how individuals and organisations can make a difference towards sustainability. Offering an integrative perspective on sustainability agency, it reviews individual, active, organisational and relational forms of sustainability agency, demonstrating the capacity of individuals and organisations to act toward sustainable futures. The Research Handbook investigates the relationships between agency and sustainability, demonstrating the importance of agency for different types of sustainability challenges, including mitigating environmental change and resource depletion. International contributors offer a multidisciplinary overview of the field, constructing detailed literature reviews on its many angles and variations. Concluding with a consolidative meta-review of sustainability agency, the Research Handbook offers directions for future research in the discipline."-- Provided by publisher.
Strategic Tendering for Professional Services by
Call Number: HD2365 .F85 2022
WINNER: Business Book Awards 2018 - 'Selling The Dream' category (1st edition) In an increasingly competitive professional services sector, it is vital that firms have an effective tendering strategy. The advantages gained from winning and retaining clients can be transformative, and the cost of losing key tenders can be catastrophic. Strategic Tendering for Professional Services provides end-to-end best practice guidance, from the crucial decision of which request-for-proposals to respond to, right through to the all important face-to-face presentation and post-pitch follow-up. Now in its second edition, this practical book captures insights from both sides of the market through interviews with both proposal professionals and decision makers from the client side. Focusing on key considerations, including the need for diversity and inclusion, providing evidence of global citizenship and how public sector pitching differs from the private sector, this book is packed with features and tools to help professionals turn guidance into practice. Strategic Tendering for Professional Services is the essential guide to improving your pitches, honing your tendering skills and boosting your win rate.
Strategy Sprints by
Call Number: HD58.8 .S4726 2022
You can grow your revenue and scale your business without sacrificing your whole personal life. It's all about working smarter, not longer. Strategy Sprints is the blueprint that you need to increase your effectiveness, grow your revenue and secure business resilience. Using the "Sprints" method, agile expert Simon Severino shows you how to transform your business with 12 assignments or "sprints" that will make you more impactful as a business leader, grow your revenue and make your strategy execution rock. Through these tried and tested exercises, businesses blow the competition out of the water. Strategy Sprints will teach you to identify the bottlenecks that are weighing your business down, turn you and anyone in your team into a sales superstar and streamline processes so you spend time where it matters. The outcomes you'll master include: - developing a compelling vision - mapping out where you can make the most money - increasing your conversion rates to sales With plenty of practical tools and templates that work, learn how Strategy Sprints can transform your business.
Teaching Environmental Impact Assessment - Ebook
Publication Date: 2021
This comprehensive guide provides readers with strategies for teaching Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) in all its forms, whether through formal university programmes or in the form of short courses offered to professionals and practitioners. Featuring contributions from 39 university teachers and short course trainers, the centerpiece of the book is the suite of 37 recipes for teaching different aspects of EIA. This internationally relevant resource collectively embodies and applies the best practice principles for teaching EIA, developed through a two-year research project with input from a diverse group of international experts. It provides practical and innovative learning activities with complete instructions for successful delivery, and thus represents a truly comprehensive and up-to-date contribution to the field. This latest contribution to our Elgar Guides to Teaching series serves as both a basis for reflection upon curricula and teaching practices, and as a source of inspiration for learning activities that can be adopted and adapted for different contexts by EIA teachers and trainers. It will be a valuable resource to help both new and seasoned EIA educators expand their toolbox in order to teach EIA more effectively.
The team coaching casebook
Call Number: HD30.4 .T396 2022
Teams are a crucial part of working life, and they can also be a source of challenges, frustrations and opportunities. This industry first book explores the breadth of approaches available throughout a team coaching engagement narrated through case studies and editorial commentary. It illustrates the eclectic and emergent nature of interventions that enable teams to achieve lasting positive changes in capability.
Drawing together 23 cases from multiple theoretical perspectives and industries from team coaching practitioners from across the globe, this book:
Trust & Inspire : how truly great leaders unleash greatness in others by
Call Number: HD57.7 .C687 2022
Stephen M.R. Covey makes the argument that even though our world has changed drastically, our leadership style has not. Most organizations, teams, schools, and families today still operate from a model of "command and control." But because of the changing nature of the world, these old rules of leadership no longer apply. Covey's solution is simple, yet bold: a shift to a leadership style of "trust and inspire." Trust and Inspire is a new way of leading that starts with the belief that people are creative, collaborative, and full of potential.
Water Markets - Ebook
Publication Date: 2021
Exploring water scarcity issues in light of the growing crisis in global water management, this book examines the applicability of water markets. It provides an overview and understanding of the presence of water markets across the globe, analysing the ways in which different countries and regions are grappling with water scarcity.
Women's entrepreneurship and culture : socio-cultural context, traditional family roles and self-determination - Ebook
Publication Date: 2021
"Women's entrepreneurship is an effective way to combat poverty, hunger and disease, to stimulate sustainable business practices, and to promote gender equality. Yet, deeply engrained cultural norms often prescribe gender-specific roles and behaviors that severely constrain the opportunities for women's entrepreneurial activities. This excellent new volume of work from the Diana Group explores this paradox. As women-entrepreneurs circumvent challenges and obstacles, they also ameliorate the cultural context for future women entrepreneurs. In this book, studies covering 40 countries document how culture affects women's entrepreneurship, and how women's entrepreneurship, in turn, shapes the cultural milieu. The work is organized into three main themes: (1) the socio-cultural context for women's entrepreneurship; (2) women's entrepreneurship as emancipation from traditional family roles; and (3) government policies and programs and self-determination in women's entrepreneurship."-- Provided by publisher.
World Encyclopedia of Entrepreneurship - Ebook
Publication Date: 2021
"Bringing together preeminent international scholars in the field, the updated second edition of this comprehensive Encyclopedia offers detailed analyses of critical concepts in entrepreneurship by the leading thinkers in the field. This illuminating resource contains 76 entries addressing the intricacies of global entrepreneurship in the 21st century. Covering topics including block chain technology, digital entrepreneurship, ethical concerns for entrepreneurs, mental health in entrepreneurship, rural entrepreneurship and sustainable entrepreneurship, this authoritative reference work sheds light on the multilayered entrepreneurial world, providing crucial insights into navigating the nuances of the New Economy. Providing readers with a unique guide for the contemporary business age, this Encyclopedia is an indispensable point of reference for scholars and researchers exploring new research opportunities as well as students in need of a thorough overview of the key concepts in the field. It will also benefit practitioners searching for advanced understanding of complex entrepreneurship topic"-- Provided by publisher.
Contact the Business Library