Omni is our new library search. It is a one-stop access point to Western & Affiliated University Libraries collections including print books, e-books, articles, and more. Try searching Omni now.
International Encyclopedia of Political Science by
Publication Date: 2011-09-07
With entries from leading international scholars from around the world, the International Encyclopedia of Political Science provides a definitive, comprehensive picture of all aspects of political life, recognizing its theoretical foundations and including empirical findings from across the globe. The eight volumes examine all the main subdisciplines of political science and include coverage of comparative politics, epistemology, political economy, political sociology, and international relations. Entries are arranged in alphabetical order, and a list of entries by subject area appears in the front of each volume for ease of use. The Encyclopedia contains a detailed index as well as extensive bibliographical references. Approximately 80 entries on the use of both qualitative and quantitative research methods in political science are provided. The process of democratization will remain a vital topic during the 21st century, and the encyclopedia contains extensive coverage of the evolution of democracy as well as other political systems. Readers will find theoretical and empirical background on other important issues such as global security, the relationship between religion and the state, and political issues related to gender and race/ethnicity. The International Encyclopedia of Political Science provides an essential, authoritative guide to the state of political science at the start of the 21st century and for decades to come, making it an invaluable resource for a global readership, including researchers, students, citizens, and policy makers.
The International Studies Encyclopedia by
Publication Date: 2010-03-29
The International Studies Encyclopedia and its online version, International Studies Online, published in association with the International Studies Association (ISA), is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations. The print version is arranged across 12 volumes in an A-Z format and brings together specially commissioned, peer reviewed essays, written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. Key features: Updated annually to keep up with this fast changing discipline Primarily organized around the different sections representing areas of specialization within the International Studies Association Over 400 specially commissioned, peer reviewed essays of up to 10,000 words focusing on the most important topics and issues Written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers and overseen by an editorial board comprising 28 past and present Presidents of ISA
Encyclopedia of Government and Politics by
Publication Date: 2002-09-11
* Provides a balanced, comprehensive account of contemporary trends in world, regional and nation-state government and politics * Captures the global changes, both theoretical and factual, of the past three decades - to give an unprecedented overview of political science and political affairs * Clearly and incisively written to meet the needs of students, lecturers and practitioners at all levels * Helpful bibliographies - of new and classic material and suggestions for further reading * Extensive index of Topics and People `Provides a comprehensive introduction to both the theoretical and practical issues of government and politics. It will be an essential purchase for libraries with in-depth collections in these areas.' - Reference Reviews `This up-to-date and well executed work provides a sound introduction to all aspects of political study.' - Choice `This is a work of immense scholarship and usefulness.' - Political Studies `In addition to copious citations to the research literature there are brief bibliographies listing major works "for further reading" at the conclusion of each article. This up-to-date and well-executed work provides a sound introduction to all aspects of political study.' - SUNY College at Purchase