Popular Music

Contact

Music Index
Music citation index, begun in 1949; online version indexes 1974-2008, with link-outs to JSTOR, where available. Valuable starting-point for all music disciplines, primarily English-language, the Music Index provides comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music. With cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals, this resource is an invaluable resource for both the novice and scholar.
Music Periodicals Database
A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
Rock's Backpages
Rock reviews, articles and interviews from the late 1950s to the present day.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Offers full-text access to major music periodicals such as New Music Express as well as trade publications from other sectors of the entertainment industry
CBCA Database
CBCA Reference is a key source for Canadian information. It provides in depth access to a wide diversity of Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines, including those with a focus on lifestyles, arts and culture.

Hit Songs, 1900-1955 by Don Tyler
Call Number: ML128.P63T95 2007
This is a chronology of the most famous songs from the years before rock 'n' roll. The top hits for each year are described, including vital information such as song origin, artist(s), and chart information. For many songs, the author includes any web or library holdings of sheet music covers, musical scores, and free audio files. An extensive collection of biographical sketches follows, providing performing credits, relevant professional awards, and brief biographies for hundreds of the era's most popular performers, lyricists, and composers.
Rock Music Scholarship by Jeffrey N. Gatten
Call Number: ML128.R6G37 1995
An interdisciplinary annotated bibliography, this one volume covers 10 subject areas, eliminating the need to use disparate sources. It provides links among the various areas of rock music scholarship, thus imposing bibliographic control across a wide body of research that treats rock music in a serious manner. The disciplines include communication, education, ethnomusicology, history, literature and the arts, music, politics, psychology, religion, and sociology. Journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and films and videos are reviewed. A quick and efficient way for scholars, students, and rock music fans to examine a broad range of works.