International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by
Publication Date: 2001-11-22
This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Not since the publication in 1968 of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by David L. Sills, has there been such an ambitious project to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Call Number: DBW reference NO LOAN GN307.E525 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-20
This encyclopedia provides description and analysis of the terms, concepts and issues of social and cultural anthropology. International in authorship and coverage, this accessible work is fully indexed and cross-referenced.
Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Call Number: DBW reference NO LOAN GN20.A45 2003
Publication Date: 2004-02-23
This volume is a new addition to the Routledge series of biographical dictionaries. With almost 600 individually signed entries from a global team of contributors, the Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology is a one-stop reference source for authoritative information on the life and work of the key figures - both historical and contemporary - in the field of anthropology. The primary focus of the dictionary is on social and cultural anthropology. However, given the history of shared intellectual influences and concerns between sociocultural anthropology and sociolinguistics, figures from both fields have been included. The entries selected reflect the historical predominance of key centres of production in the United States and Britain. Yet an effort has also been made to highlight the significant work of anthropologists working in other hubs of scholarly production and in other languages. Finally, the work of anthropologists who have made a substantial contribution to the institutional development of the discipline has also been examined.
Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Call Number: DBW reference NO LOAN GN320.R37 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-29
Social and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts is an easy to use A-Z guide to the central disciplines students will encounter in this field. Fully updated, the second edition includes new entries on: aesthetics egalitarianism the everyday landscape power the state. With full cross-referencing and revised further reading highlighting the latest writings in Social and Cultural Anthropology, this is the ideal resource for anyone studying or teaching this subject.
Biographical Dictionary of Anthropologists by
Call Number: DBW stack GN20.S84 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-26
This biographical dictionary provides information on 322 men and women who have made or are making significant contributions in the field of anthropology. A short biography highlights each person's professional and private background and detailed analysis of the theories or approaches that each contributed to his or her individual field and a guide to their major published works are provided.A chronological appendix lists each person's date of birth, full name, and primary field of study, guiding readers to entries covering 1681 to 2006. An extensive glossary explains technical terms used throughout the work.