Food Science

Introduction to the Chemistry of Food describes the molecular composition of food and the chemistry of its components. It provides students with an understanding of chemical and biochemical reactions that impact food quality and contribute to wellness. This innovative approach enables students in food science, nutrition and culinology to better understand the role of chemistry in food. Specifically, the text provides background in food composition, demonstrates how chemistry impacts quality, and highlights its role in creating novel foods. Each chapter contains a review section with suggested learning activities. Text and supplemental materials can be used in traditional face-to-face, distance, or blended learning formats. Describes the major and minor components of food Explains the functional properties contributed by proteins, carbohydrates and lipids in food Explores the chemical and enzymatic reactions affecting food attributes (color, flavor and nutritional quality) Describes the gut microbiome and influence of food components on its microbial population Reviews major food systems and novel sources of food protein

Exploring food microbiology, its impact upon consumer safety, and the latest strategies for reducing its associated risks As our methods of food production advance, so too does the need for a fuller understanding of food microbiology and the critical ways in which it influences food safety. The Microbiology of Safe Food satisfies this need, exploring the processes and effects of food microbiology with a detailed, practical approach. Examining both food pathogens and spoilage organisms, microbiologist Stephen J. Forsythe covers topics ranging from hygiene regulations and product testing to microbiological criteria and sampling plans. This third edition has been thoroughly revised to cater to the food scientists and manufacturers of today, addressing such new areas as:  Advances in genomic analysis techniques for key organisms, including E. coli, Salmonella, and L. monocytogenes Emerging information on high-throughput sequencing and genomic epidemiology based on genomic analysis of isolates Recent work on investigations into foodborne infection outbreaks, demonstrating the public health costs of unsafe food production Updates to the national and international surveillance systems, including social media Safe food for consumers is the ultimate goal of food microbiology. To that end, The Microbiology of Safe Food focuses on the real-world applications of the latest science, making it an essential companion for all those studying and working in food safety. 

Molecular Nutrition: Vitamins presents the nutritional and molecular aspects of vitamins with a specific focus on vitamins A, B1 (thiamine), B2 (riboflavin), B# (niacin), B5 (pantothenic acid), B6, (pyridoxine), B7 (biotin), B9 (folate), B12 (colbamin), C, D, E, and K. As part of the Molecular Nutrition series, this book discusses introductory aspects and general coverage of vitamins and nutrition, the molecular biology of the cell, including signaling, transporters, oxidative stress, receptors, uptake, immunity, proliferation, endoplasmic reticulum, differentiation, carcinogenesis and apoptosis. Final sections cover genetic machinery and its function, transcriptional processes, homeostasis genes, cancer, gene expression, mutations, and more. Emerging fields of molecular biology and important discoveries related to diet and nutritional health are also covered, rounding out the book. Summarizes molecular nutrition in health as related to vitamins Includes material on signaling, transporters, oxidative stress, receptors, uptake, immunity, proliferation, endoplasmic reticulum, differentiation, carcinogenesis and apoptosis Presents transcriptional processes, homeostasis genes, cancer, gene expression, mutations, the sodium-dependent multivitamin transporter, p53, p21, microRNAs, one carbon metabolism, nucleic acids, DNA methylation and polymorphisms Addresses emerging fields of molecular biology and presents important discoveries related to diet and nutritional health Covers Vitamins A, B, C, D, E, and K Discusses their impact on health relating to cancer, diabetes, arthritis, and aging Includes key facts, a mini dictionary of terms, and summary points

Innovations in Traditional Foods addresses the most relevant topics of traditional foods while placing emphasis on the introduction of innovations and consumer preferences. Certain food categories, such as fruits, grains, nuts, seeds, grains and legumes, vegetables, mushrooms, roots and tubers, table olives and olive oil, wine, fermented foods and beverages, fish, meat, milk and dairy products are addressed. Intended for food scientists, technologists, engineers and chemists working in food science, product developers, SMEs, researchers, academics and professionals, this book provides a reference supporting technological advances, product development improvements and potential positioning in the traditional food market.

Corn: Chemistry and Technology, Third Edition, provides a broad perspective on corn from expert agronomists, food scientists and geneticists. This encyclopedic storehouse of comprehensive information on all aspects of the world's largest crop (in metric tons) includes extensive coverage of recent development in genetic modification for the generation of new hybrids and genotypes. New chapters highlight the importance of corn as a raw material for the production of fuel bioethanol and the emerging topic of phytochemicals or nutraceutical compounds associated to different types of corns and their effect on human health, especially in the prevention of chronic diseases and cancer. Written by international experts on corn, and edited by a highly respected academics, this new edition will remain the industry standard on the topic.