Books & eBooks
The Beryl Ivey Library has many reference books, such as handbooks, manuals, or encyclopedias that support Food Science - check out some of the key resources below. They can be found in our reference collection on the first floor or in our general collection. Some are also available online!
Looking for more? Books are an excellent resource when needing to find general information on a topic. They help you understand a topic in context, contain summaries of research, and can offer a historical perspective. Books are best found using Omni, the library search tool. Need help locating a book? Stop by the Service Desk or contact us.
Statistics in Food Science and Nutrition by
Publication Date: 2013
Many statistical innovations are linked to applications in food science. For example, the student t-test (a statistical method) was developed to monitor the quality of stout at the Guinness Brewery and multivariate statistical methods are applied widely in the spectroscopic analysis of foods. Nevertheless, statistical methods are most often associated with engineering, mathematics, and the medical sciences, and are rarely thought to be driven by food science. Consequently, there is a dearth of statistical methods aimed specifically at food science, forcing researchers to utilize methods intended for other disciplines. The objective of this Brief will be to highlight the most needed and relevant statistical methods in food science and thus eliminate the need to learn about these methods from other fields.All methods and their applications will be illustrated with examples from research literature.
Advances in Food Science and Technology by
Call Number: TP370.A24 2012
Reviews research on the various developments in different areas of food science and technology. This book covers topics such as food safety objectives, risk assessment, quality assurance and control, good manufacturing practices, food process systems design and control, and rapid methods of analysis and detection.
Essentials of Food Science by
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2013-12-05
The fourth edition of this classic text continues to use a multidisciplinary approach to expose the non-major food science student to the physical and chemical composition of foods. Additionally, food preparation and processing, food safety, food chemistry, and food technology applications are discussed in this single source of information. The book begins with an Introduction to Food Components, Quality and Water. Next, it addresses Carbohydrates in Food, Starches, Pectins and Gums. Grains: Cereals, Flour, Rice and Pasta, and Vegetables and Fruits follow. Proteins in Food, Meat, Poultry, Fish, and Dry Beans; Eggs and Egg Products, Milk and Milk Products as well as Fats and Oil Products, Food Emulsions and Foams are covered. Next, Sugar, Sweeteners, and Confections and a chapter on Baked Products Batters and Dough is presented. A new section entitled Aspects of Food Processing covers information on Food Preservation, Food Additives, and Food Packaging. Food Safety and Government Regulation of the Food Supply and Labeling are also discussed in this text. As appropriate, each chapter discusses the nutritive value and safety issues of the highlighted commodity. The USDA My Plate is utilized throughout the chapters. A Conclusion, Glossary and further References as well as Bibliography are included in each chapter. Appendices at the end of the book include a variety of current topics such as Biotechnology, Functional Foods, Nutraceuticals, Phytochemicals, Medical Foods, USDA Choosemyplate.gov, Food Label Health Claims, Research Chefs Association certification, Human Nutrigenomics and New Product Development.
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics by
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2014-11-20
This Encyclopedia offers a definitive source on issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the important new area of food and agricultural ethics. It includes summaries of historical approaches, current scholarship, social movements, and new trends from the standpoint of the ethical notions that have shaped them. It combines detailed analyses of specific topics such as the role of antibiotics in animal production, the Green Revolution, and alternative methods of organic farming, with longer entries that summarize general areas of scholarship and explore ways that they are related. Renewed debate, discussion and inquiry into food and agricultural topics have become a hallmark of the turn toward more sustainable policies and lifestyles in the 21st century. Attention has turned to the goals and ethical rationale behind production, distribution and consumption of food, as well as to non-food uses of cultivated biomass and the products of animal husbandry. These wide-ranging debates encompass questions in human nutrition, animal rights and the environmental impacts of aquaculture and agricultural production. Each of these and related topics is both technically complex and involves an - often implicit - ethical dimension. Other topics include methods for integrating ethics into scientific and technical research programs or development projects, the role of intensive agriculture and biotechnology in addressing persistent world hunger and the role of crops, forests and engineered organisms in making a transition to renewable, carbon-neutral sources of energy. The Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics proves an indispensible reference point for future research and writing on topics in agriculture and food ethics for decades to come.
Encyclopedia of Food Science Research by
Call Number: TP370.E56 2011 (Reference 1 DAY)
Presents and discusses research in the study of food science. This book discusses topics that include food bioactive peptides; probiotic and prebiotic functional food product development; organic fresh vegetables; waste management and resource recovery in the food processing industry; functional components of food; and, more.