Selected Online Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of American Studies
Published by Johns Hopkins University Press with sponsorship of the American Studies Association (ASA). Covers history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present, from various perspectives and the global American Studies movement. Contains 800 searchable articles and accompanying bibliographies, with related websites, illustrations, and supplemental material.
American National Biography
Provides comprehensive coverage of diverse individuals who have shaped the history of the United States. Features over 18,700 biographies. New biographies are added three times annually. Entries are cross-referenced to counterpart entries in Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Includes 3,036 signed essays, written or reviewed by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance. Provides analysis of each topic or person's significance in and relevance to American popular culture.
The Oxford Handbook of Nineteenth-Century American Literature
Includes 23 original articles written by leading scholars in American literary studies. By examining specific novels, poems, essays, diaries, and other literary examples, the articles examine the implications, scope, and scale of their analysis.
Dictionary of American History
Authoritative resource providing reliable information on a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
Provides overviews and specific information from different perspectives concerning major discourses and experiences in contemporary American culture. Many entries contain a longer thematic entry of 1,000-2,000 words, and provide an overview and comprehensive bibliography. Cross-references are included.
The Oxford Companion to United States History
Contains 1,400 online entries written by 900 historians and scholars on America's political, diplomatic, and military history, as well as social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion.