CBE 3319B Library Session and Project Support

A complete reconceptualization of the classic reference series the Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design, whose first volume published in 1976, this resource offers extensive A-Z treatment of the subject in five simultaneously published volumes, with comprehensive indexing of all five volumes in the back matter of each tome. It includes material on the design of key unit operations involved with chemical processes; the design, unit operation, and integration of reactors and separation systems; process system peripherals such as pumps, valves, and controllers; analytical techniques and equipment; and pilot plant design and scale-up criteria. This reference contains well-researched sections on automation, equipment, design and simulation, reliability and maintenance, separations technologies, and energy and environmental issues. Authoritative contributions cover chemical processing equipment, engineered systems, and laboratory apparatus currently utilized in the field. It also presents expert overviews on key engineering science topics in property predictions, measurements and analysis, novel materials and devices, and emerging chemical fields.

"Written by engineers for engineers (with over 150 International Editorial Advisory Board members),this highly lauded resource provides up-to-the-minute information on the chemical processes, methods, practices, products, and standards in the chemical, and related, industries. "

The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949. The new edition includes necessary adjustments and modernisation of the content to reflect changes and developments in chemical technology. Presenting a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information.

Up-to-date coverage of all chemical engineering topics from the fundamentals to the state of the art now in its 85th anniversary edition, this industry-standard resource has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, ninth edition, provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. You will get comprehensive details on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more.

Subject areas include inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc. Chemical substances ranging from raw materials and bulk products to fine and specialty chemicals are described in detail. Information on physical and chemical properties, production, applications, economic data, toxicology and occupational health is provided for each. Relevant patent information is supplied wherever available.