Clinical Nutrition

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care.

The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. EMBASE is one of the most widely used biomedical and pharmaceutical databases because of its currency and in-depth indexing. Frequent updates allow access to the latest medical and pharmacological trends. Approximately 375,000 records are added yearly.

To address the need of health professionals as effective knowledge managers in today’s dynamic environment, Dietitians of Canada developed PEN: Practice-based Evidence in Nutrition® – The Global Resource for Nutrition Practice. The PEN System provides nutrition practitioners with ready access to timely, current and authoritative guidance on food and nutrition. It offers evidence-based answers to the questions encountered in every day practice.

Includes MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE and unique citations from the following now defunct IGM databases : AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, HISTLINE, and HealthSTAR. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, PubMed is an international bibliographic database of over 4500 biomedical journals. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the preclinical sciences from 1966 to the present. Link outs to select full text articles are also available from PubMed. Only link outs for journals in which Western Libraries or individuals have subscriptions are accessible. A complete search of PubMed's precursor medical indexes from 1879-1966 can be done by using the following printed indexes: Index Medicus 1879-1898/99, 1903-1925/26; Bibliographica medica 1900-1902; Quarterly Cumulative Index Medicus 1927-1956; Current List of Medical Literature 1957-1959 and Cumulated Index Medicus 1960-1966. Click for: Help Guide, Overview, Tutorial.

Scopus is an abstracts database of 27 million records (back to 1966) covering articles from 14,200 peer-reviewed titles, including international publishers. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; and General Sciences.