Often industry data is organized by classification codes that assign companies to a category based on their business activities.
In Canada, we primarily use NAICS (North American Industry Classification System), developed by the statistical agencies of Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Knowing the NAICS code(s) for your industry can be helpful in your research.
Provides reports for Canadian and U.S. industries. Canadian industry reports include a provincial breakdown and economic profile for provinces.
Contains business and financial data on all public (active and inactive) and some private companies worldwide. Also includes an executive search, industry reports for select industries, and supply chain information.
Contains industry benchmarking data, featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in North America.
Scholarly articles in all disciplines of business. Also includes news articles, company profiles, industry and market reports, and country reports.
Provides reports for Canadian and U.S. industries. Canadian industry reports include a provincial breakdown and economic profile for provinces.
Includes industry, company, and country information. Industry reports include market size, segmentation, and five forces analysis. Company profiles include SWOT analysis. Country reports provide PESTLE analysis.
Market research reports with comprehensive analysis of global market sizing, forecasting, and industry intelligence in the sciences and technology sectors.
Consolidates statistical data from various sources to provide insights on industries, markets, and consumers.
Provides information on global markets, including risk ratings, finance, macroeconomic performance, and outlook and forecasting across industry sectors. Popular risk indices include ESG Country Index, Country Risk Index, and Political Risk Index.
To access, click on SSO beside Sign In and use Western as your Organization ID. You will then be prompted to login with your Western ID and password.
Market and industry research reports with a focus on high-technology sectors, new market opportunities, and disruptive technologies.
Contains market size, market share, and market segmentation for consumer goods categories worldwide.
Consolidates statistical data from various sources to provide insights on industries, markets, and consumers.
Includes industry, company, and country information. Industry reports include market size, segmentation, and five forces analysis. Company profiles include SWOT analysis. Country reports provide PESTLE analysis.
Provides reports for Canadian and U.S. industries. Canadian industry reports include a provincial breakdown and economic profile for provinces.
Important industry information can also be found from industry associations. Information available often includes:
Use Google or another search engine to search for associations relevant for your industry in your location. If you don't find a something, try broadening your geographic area (e.g. from Ontario to Canada, or from Canada to the U.S. or international). If your industry is very specialized or new, look for associations for broader or similar industries. Try searching terms like industry association, industry group, trade group, or trade organization.
Consolidates statistical data from various sources to provide insights on industries, markets, and consumers.
Contains industry benchmarking data, featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in North America.
Scholarly articles in all disciplines of business. Also includes news articles, company profiles, industry and market reports, and country reports.
