Finance Research

Business Research Help

Contact:

text: 226-777-3039

call: 519-661-3941

Sources for Finding Company Financials

Federal securities laws require public companies to disclose financial information. These databases take this publicly available information and analyze and repackage it into more accessible formats.

Mergent Online
Contains business and financial data on all public (active and inactive) and some private companies worldwide. Also includes country profiles, industry reports, equity reports, bond data, broker analyst research reports, and more.
Mergent Intellect
Provides company information for private and public companies. Key features include industry news, executive details, financial information, company family trees and competitors lists.
PitchBook
Offers in-depth information on private and public companies, investors, deals, M&A, funds, debt and lenders, advisors, and professionals. Activate your account through Single Sign-On (SSO). Note that PitchBook requires users to reset their accounts annually.
Nexis Uni Company Dossier
Provides profiles of companies worldwide as well as industry information. Search by company name, ticker symbol, company type, city, province/state, or country To access: click on the top Menu button (beside Nexis Uni logo) and select Company Dossier.
Factiva
Extensive access to news coverage from over 8000 sources, available from 118 countries in 22 languages. Company and industry information is also available: Select Companies/Markets in top menu bar.

Because private companies are not required to disclose information, it can be difficult to find any information about them. These databases compile information from news and other sources to provide as much information as possible on private companies.

PitchBook
Offers in-depth information on private and public companies, investors, deals, M&A, funds, debt and lenders, advisors, and professionals. Activate your account through Single Sign-On (SSO). Note that PitchBook requires users to reset their accounts annually.
Mergent Intellect
Provides company information for private and public companies. Key features include industry news, executive details, financial information, company family trees and competitors lists.
PrivCo
Includes financial data on major private companies. Includes financials and revenues, M&A deals, firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history, and family ownership data. Requires the creation of a personal account with your Western email.
Nexis Uni Company Dossier
Provides profiles of companies worldwide as well as industry information. Search by company name, ticker symbol, company type, city, province/state, or country To access: click on the top Menu button (beside Nexis Uni logo) and select Company Dossier.

Registered Charities - Canadian Revenu Agency
Search for registered Canadian charities with links to their T3010 returns (includes their detailed financial information).

Mergent Intellect
Provides company information for private and public companies. Key features include industry news, executive details, financial information, company family trees and competitors lists.
Grant Connect
Provides searchable, detailed information on all Canadian grant making foundations, hundreds of corporate community investment programs, as well as government funding programs and American foundations that will fund Canadian charities.

990 Finder
Provides access to nearly 3 million of the most recent Forms 990 and 990-PF filed by nonprofit organizations with Internal Revenue Service (IRS) in the U.S.

Company Financials & Analysis

Mergent Online
Contains business and financial data on all public (active and inactive) and some private companies worldwide. Also includes country profiles, industry reports, equity reports, bond data, broker analyst research reports, and more.
Mergent Investext
Analyst reports for companies and industries from investment banks, brokerage houses and consulting firms worldwide.
Mergent Intellect
Provides company information for private and public companies. Key features include industry news, executive details, financial information, company family trees and competitors lists.
PitchBook
Offers in-depth information on private and public companies, investors, deals, M&A, funds, debt and lenders, advisors, and professionals. Requires the creation of a personal account with your Western email. Instructions for creating an account.

S&P Capital IQ
A single source for a powerful array of financial data, analytics and research.
Available in the C.B. “Bud” Johnston Library. Please book a time to ensure availability.
Bloomberg Professional Services
Interactive financial information that integrates data, news, analytics, and multimedia reports into a single platform.
Only available in the C.B. “Bud” Johnston Library. Please book a time to ensure availability.
WRDS: Wharton Research Data Service
Data subscription service provided by the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. The data available are mainly related to business and finance. Use the link to see the details of what's included in our subscription and how to get access.
Only available to current Western Master's and PhD students, staff, and faculty.

Last Updated: Apr 11, 2024 12:14 PM
Print Page

Subjects: Business

Tags: bonds, Business, commodities, finance, ratios