General Foods and Nutrition

Following in the tradition of its popular predecessors, the CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition, Third Edition explains hundreds of terms commonly used in medicine, food science, metabolism, physiology, and nutrition. Thoroughly updated and expanded to reflect major advances over the past decade, this reference lists entries alphabetically and cross-references them when multiple terms are used for the same definition. Each entry is followed either by a definition, paragraph, essay, composition, article, or feature article. Many of the more complex entries are supported with figures or tables.

Krause''s Food and the Nutrition Care Process, 14th Edition presents the most cutting-edge and up-to-date dietetics content available in this ever-changing field. Nicknamed the "nutrition bible", students and practitioners alike turn to its current, comprehensive content, engaging pedagogy and design, and logical presentation of information. This new edition includes the 2015 Dietary Guidelines for Americans, more visuals, and highlighted Clinical Case Studies, Clinical Insights, and Clinical Applications boxes that help translate scientific knowledge into practical patient care. Written by nearly 50 nationally recognized writers, researchers, and practitioners, it covers nutrition assessment and intervention, the nutritional needs of individuals in different stages of the life cycle, nutrition for health and fitness, and medical nutrition therapy.

This widely acclaimed book is a complete, authoritative reference on nutrition and its role in contemporary medicine, dietetics, nursing, public health, and public policy. Distinguished international experts provide in-depth information on historical landmarks in nutrition, specific dietary components, nutrition in integrated biologic systems, nutritional assessment through the life cycle, nutrition in various clinical disorders, and public health and policy issues. Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease, 11th Edition, offers coverage of nutrition's role in disease prevention, international nutrition issues, public health concerns, the role of obesity in a variety of chronic illnesses, genetics as it applies to nutrition, and areas of major scientific progress relating nutrition to disease.

Published by Health Canada, the Nutrient Value of Some Common Foods (NVSCF) booklet provides Canadians with a resource that lists 19 nutrients for 1000 of the most commonly consumed foods in Canada.

A very useful resource in the industrial, professional, and supporting research areas, as well as for non-food scientists who have supervisory and management responsibility in a food area

So much more than just a dictionary... the completely revised, bestselling, trusted Mosby''s Dictionary is the all-in-one reference you need to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features superior-quality definitions plus 2,400 full-color illustrations -- nearly three times more than any other dictionary available! But that''s only the beginning. Mosby''s Dictionary also includes encyclopedic entries to explain more difficult concepts in depth, 12 appendixes with practical quick-reference information, plus the Mosby''s Medical Spellchecker CD. It''s the ONE reference you''ll turn to from beginning to end! Over 51,000 comprehensive, authoritative, high-quality definitions -- including definitions for major diseases, disorders, drugs, and procedures -- offer the most accurate, complete information available in all areas of nursing, medicine, and health-related professions. Approximately 2,400 color photographs and line drawings -- nearly three times more than any other health care dictionary -- illustrate all subject areas to help you understand concepts. The practical, straightforward alphabetical organization with no subentries and easy-to-use features such as thumb tabs, entry words in color, and large, easy-to-read print make it easy to find and understand information. Expanded definitions for selected entries, particularly major diseases, disorders, and procedures, offer detailed information in one spot to help you understand more difficult concepts. Hundreds of lab test and surgical procedure definitions explain the purpose, procedures, patient care, and expected outcomes. Comprehensive definitions for drugs -- with over 200 new to this edition -- include indications, contraindications, and adverse effects for safe medication practice. Definitions for more than 50 complementary and alternative medical therapies and over 100 herbs familiarize you with options today''s patients may choose. Pronunciations and word roots for key entries help you use terminology correctly in everyday practice. Includes British spellings for selected entries to help you recognize alternate spellings. A Color Atlas of Human Anatomy contains 43 pages of clearly labeled drawings for easy A&P review and reference. 12 appendixes offer useful information you''ll turn to again and again -- with a quick-reference list of all appendixes in the front of the book. A companion EVOLVE website deepens understanding with: Over 35,000 audio pronunciations A printable version of the Color Atlas of Human Anatomy 11 pages discussing complementary and alternative medicine A printable English-Spanish phrase book 12 pages of herb-drug interactions 400 interactive medical terminology review exercises An extensive directory of health care organizations and resources And much more! Approximately 5,000 new definitions, with special emphasis on definitions related to new drugs, anatomy and physiology, surgical procedures, lab tests, and new technological developments, keep you up to date on the latest developments in health care. Over 30,000 completely revised definitions and 800 updated illustrations ensure you have the most current information in all areas of nursing, medicine, and the health-related professions. UNIQUE! Mosby''s Medical Spellchecker CD -- included with each copy of Mosby''s Dictionary -- contains over 450,000 medical terms you can use with your word processing software to save time and ensure accuracy. A completely revised section on nursing diagnoses with entries for all NANDA-approved nursing diagnoses, Nursing Interventions Classifications, and Nursing Outcomes Classifications helps prepare you for real-world practice.

Featuring more than 56,000 entries, this thoroughly updated Seventh Edition contains the medical terminology used in more than 30 of today's fastest growing health profession areas--plus comprehensive inclusion of entries suited for the nursing field. The book includes 1,000 enriched color images and photographs, a glossy insert with detailed images by Anatomical Chart Company, more than 65 appendices, and cut thumb tabs for quick A-to-Z reference. More than 70 leading consultants from health professions and nursing contributed to the enhancements of this edition.   Also included with the purchase is a free one-year subscription to Stedman's Online:  Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing, which includes all the content from the print dictionary, as well as access to 5,600 images, more than 48,000 audio pronunciations, and 48 live action videos; along with a free version of Stedman's Plus Medical/Pharmaceutical Spellchecker (a $99.00 value).

This new three-volume set presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Students, academics and general researchers will find entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines. The "Encyclopedia's multidisciplinary articles--including "Comfort Food," "Ethnicity and Food," "Medieval Banquets" and "Nutrient Composition"--are supplemented by 450 photographs and illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines and a comprehensive index.

The role of nutrition in improving quality of life and combating disease is undeniable - and researchers from different disciplines are bringing their perspectives to bear on this fundamental topic. The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Third Edition, is a thorough revision of the previous award-winning version and reflects the scientific advances in the field of human nutrition. It presents the latest understanding on a wide range of nutrition-related topics including food safety, weight management, vitamins, bioengineering of foods, plant based diet and raw foods among others. New articles on organic food, biofortification, nutritional labeling and the effect of religious customs on diet, among many others, reflect the dedication to currency in this revision.  It not only contains the most current and thorough information available on the topic, but also contains broader cross-referencing on emerging opportunities for potential treatment and prevention of diseases.

The first—and only—source to integrate the multiple disciplines and professions exploring the many ways people interact with the natural and designed environments in which we live. * 250+ entries on topics such as eating disorders, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, peer group relations, and transitioning to young adulthood * A diverse group of contributors from the fields of architecture, biology, geology, sociology, psychology, urban planning, and more * Illustrations and photographs to enhance the coverage * Biographies of major people in the field

This text is a one-stop source for diet and nutrition information that covers popular and special diets, nutrition basics, and nutrition-related health conditions. It also particularly addresses health and nutrition concerns across all age groups, from infancy to old age. This encyclopedia avoids medical jargon, while still providing thorough coverage of each topic.