Global Health

set up by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the UN, together with major publishers, enables 107 developing countries to gain access to a collection of 3,500 journals (December 2014)

Coordinated by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), the aim is to increase access to scientific and technical information in LMICs.

Free access from low and middle income countries - see listing of countries on this page

Portal of Journals on Health Sciences, mix of open access and subscription Journals (primarily in Portuguese or Spanish) - from BIREME / PAHO (Sao Paulo, Brazil)

Maintained by the University of Buffalo

A not-for-profit organisation, eIFL.net supports and advocates for the wide availability of electronic resources by library users in transitional and developing countries. Its core activities are negotiating affordable subscriptions on a multi-country consortial basis, supporting national library consortia and maintaining a global knowledge sharing and capacity building network in related areas, such as open access publishing, intellectual property rights, open source software for libraries and the creation of institutional repositories of local content.

Promotes free access to medical journals, listed alphabetically, by specialty, or language

Aims to to systematize the study of health care delivery, to disseminate new learning to practitioners, and to improve health outcomes in resource-poor settings

Offers a range of journals services to address the difficulty faced by many researchers in the global south in accessing journal articles to support their research.

"[D]esigned to provide the necessary information for policy-makers to learn about the global OA environment and to view their country’s status, and understand where and why Open Access has been most successful."

Global campaign and knowledge network with more than 2800 health professionals, librarians, publishers and others working together to achieve the HIFA2015 goal: By 2015, every person worldwide will have access to an informed healthcare provider.

Set up by WHO together with major publishers, HINARI enables over 110 developing countries to gain access to over 3750 journal titles

Established in 1992 by the International Council for Science (ICSU), INASP's mission is to enable worldwide access to information and knowledge with particular emphasis on the needs of developing and transitional countries.

Public-private consortium coordinated by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), Yale University, and leading science and technology publishers

A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). The ever growing archive may be searched or browsed by title.

Based on PMC, UKPMC provides a stable, permanent, and free-to-access online digital archive of full-text, peer-reviewed UK publications.

Collective name for the four programmes – HINARI, AGORA, OARE and ARDI.

Provides an international, primarily open access, collection in Spanish and Portuguese - from BIREME / PAHO (Sao Paulo, Brazil; about BIREME in English).

Free use in low income countries via the IHTSDO (International Health Terminology Standards Development Organisation)

Provides resources for librarians in developing countries

Provides free resources for developing countries