Primary sources are materials produced by people with direct experience of a topic or event from a given period of study. They include things like texts, artworks, sound recordings, artefacts, videos, and oral histories.
You can search for primary sources using Western’s Library Catalogue (Omni), the websites of heritage institutions (libraries, museums, archives, etc.), and digital humanities projects.
Microform comes in various formats like microfilm, microfiche, and microprint. The Microforms Collection is held at the D. B. Weldon Library and is searchable in A Guide to Selected Microform Collections.
Spanish and Latin American Imprints to 1800 (Brown University)
This collection was assembled during the 19th and early 20th centuries by Chile's foremost authority on early printing and bibliography, José Toribio Medina, and was donated by him to Chile's National Library in 1925. In 1940, Brown University Library undertook a microfilming project of selected titles in the National Library to augment the holdings of the John Carter Brown Library.
Contents:
1. Mexican Imprints, 1554-1750 (reels 1-30)
2. Mexican Imprints, 1750-1800 (reels 31-64)
3. Spanish Imprints, 1530-1646 (reels 65-99)
4. Spanish Imprints, 1647-1692 (reels 100-130)
5. Spanish Imprints, 1692-1788 (reels 131-176)
6. Guatemalan Imprints, 1663-1800 (reels 177-186)
7. Peruvian Imprints and other Regions (reels 187-248)
Conquistadors: The Struggle for Colonial Power in Latin America, 1492-1825 (British Library)
This collection features expedition records, original letters, maps of exploration and colonization, and "diaries of discoveries" from Spanish America. It covers Columbus' first voyage to the end of colonial Spanish rule. Languages include Spanish, English, Portuguese, French, and Italian. It also features Bible translations in Quechua and other native languages as well as Indigenous dramas and poems.
