Hispanic Studies

Databases and websites relevant for research in Hispanic Studies.

Contact

Ask a Librarian

REFERENCE WORKS

Reference works are sources like bibliographies, companions, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks. They provide an overview of a topic or person and offer leads to further reading through their citations and bibliographies.

Reference works can be found by searching Western's Library Catalogue (Omni), and by including the word(s) bibliography, companion, dictionary, encyclopedia, handbook, or reference in the Subject field.

General Reference

Oxford Reference Online
Online collection of authoritative language and subject reference works (dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, etc.) from Oxford University Press.

Bibliographies

Latin American Literature -- Bibliographies
Subject search for bibliographies covering Latin American literature in Western's Library Catalogue (Omni). Change “Latin American” for individual countries (i.e., “Mexican,” “Peruvian,” etc.) for further results.
PhiloBiblon
Bio-bibliographical database of early Spanish texts. Includes the Bibliografia Española de Textos Antiguos (BETA) and the the Bibliografia de la Poesía Áurea (BIPA).
Spanish Literature -- Bibliographies
Subject search for bibliographies covering Spanish literature in Western's Library Catalogue (Omni).

Biographies

Diccionario Biográfico Español
Biographies of more than 50,000 individuals in Spanish history. Includes Spain as well as Spanish administrative territories. Date coverage is from the 7th century through the 20th century.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Features comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics. Articles begin with a bibliography of the writer’s known works and end with a bibliography of key secondary literature.

Companions

Cambridge Companions to Literature
Links to companions from Cambridge University Press on Spanish and Latin American literature available via Western Libraries.
Routledge Companions to Hispanic and Latin American Studies
Links to companions from Routledge on Hispanic and Latin American Studies available via Western Libraries.

Encyclopedias

Latin America -- Encyclopedias
Subject search for encyclopedias covering Latin American history and literature in Western’s Library Catalogue (Omni). Change “Latin America” for individual countries (i.e., “Mexico,” “Peru,” etc.) for further results.
Spain -- Encyclopedias
Subject search for encyclopedias covering various aspects of Spanish history and literature in Western’s Library Catalogue (Omni).

The Literary Encyclopedia
Publishes biographies of major and minor writers with scholarly descriptions of all interesting texts written by these authors.

Last Updated: Nov 7, 2025 10:15 AM
Print Page

Subjects: History, Languages and Cultures, Spanish

Tags: Latin America, literature, Spain